iMAC help w/ Verizon DSL:requesting assistance

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 2MacalypseNow, May 13, 2007.

  1. 2MacalypseNow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #1
    I just got a iMac I am about to transition my Verizon DSL service to this computer I have a few questions though.

    1) I have a Westell 2200 model, will this be okay for the time being? (I've had it over 3 n half years)

    2) The installation disc for Verizon is alright in using this or do I need to request a new one for IMAC 2.16 Intel?

    3) Is there a better choice for Internet service than to go than Verizon for iMAC?

    4) What should I keep in mind for updates for Verizon since early 2004 for the iMAC?

    5) What problems should I expect or you have had at first with Verizon and the iMAC

    Thanks...I hope this helps some people who are in the same Verizon boat as well

    :D
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    1. I have the Westell 6100 right now.

    2. The PowerPC installer on the disc always craps out. I ended up booting into Windows for it.

    3. My Verizon connection was only down one night for a few hours from 12 AM - 6 AM over the past nine months.
     
  3. dex22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    #3
    Verizon DSL simply requires the attached computer to be using DHCP. The computer picks up an IP address and DNS server IPs from the provider automatically. It isn't necessary to install any software to use Verizon's DSL service on your mac.

    A small number of Verizon modems use PPPoE. If this is the case, go to the network preferences, select the PPPoE tab, and enter your username and password for your DSL connection. (If Verizon never gave you a username and password to connect, you most likely need DHCP, not PPPoE.)

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. 2MacalypseNow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #4

    Hmm, so I don't even have to install Verizon disc in the IMAC? Isnt that installing something? I remember it took like 20 minutes to Load this Verizon on my PC system. That would be cool since I I misplaced that disc somewhere :D
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    If your DSL account is already set up there's nothing you need to do. The only thing I had to do in Windows was my first account setup. Otherwise changing your computers has no effect on your modem or account settings. I do believe though that after 10.4.7 the Verizon Mac account setup program does work via Rosetta properly, just very slowly. It setup Apple Mail to connect to my Verizon mail account via POP.

    My Westell 6100 is a modem and a router. I just have a switch plugged into it and I have all my other devices in the switch. The modem handles PPPoE and DHCP.
     

Share This Page