imac hyperthreading

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by goher2000, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. goher2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys,

    how do i check if hyperthreading is enabled or disabled. I have imac 2.93 ghz intel core i7 with 16gb 1333 mhz ddr3.


    thnx
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    It is enabled. Open Activity Monitor and count the CPU Usage boxes. You should have twice as many boxes as you do cores. Example: If you see four CPU Usage boxes and have a dual core CPU, then its enabled.
     
  3. goher2000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #3
    imac hyperthreading

    Thanks , all I can see one partition or box for cpu, it use to be displaying 8 boxes/partitions in 'CPU Usage' when i click on cpu in the activity manager. not sure why it is displaying only one box/partition now. my mac book pro display 4 boxes stacked on each other when i click on 'CPU'.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Activity Monitor could have a limit as to how many CPU Usage boxes it can show. Why do you have reason to believe HyperThreading is turned off?
     
  5. goher2000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #5
    well only reason is it was displaying graph of 8 cpus before and now displaying only for one. I paid for 8 cores. wana see 8 cores regardless am using them or not. can you please confirm if this is activity monitor limitations.can i configure it to display 8 graphs i.e one for each cpu. activity monitor versions seems to be same on my imac and mac book pro i.e 10.6 (212)

    Regards
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    You only paid for four cores. The other four are virtual cores. I can lt test the limitations of Activity Monitor, because I don't have anything with that many threads. I'm still very sure your iMac is working properly and there is nothing to worry about.
     

Share This Page