iMac i3 os x reinstall problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iMacccsssss, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. iMacccsssss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I have an iMac :apple: i3 3.06 ghz 500gb 4gb

    The problem is reinstalling os x snow leopard.

    On other computer the disc works. But with my imac i get to bootcamp. Select the installation cd or installation harddrive (tried both) and then freezes on the white screen with the apple logo in the middle. There is also no spinning wheel, and it just does nothing. on the other hand it works fine on a macbook pro 15 inch..

    somebody knows whats the problem? Do the new imac i3 need a different way to install or?

    Im stuck for three days now, and i really don't know what to do..

    Also: When i want to boot windows seven, i get a black screen... can only enter via safe mode

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. wibongo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #2
    Are you using the gray 'OSX INSTALL DVD' that came with your iMac? If you're using a different disk, don't...use the one that came with the iMac. You mention trying the disc in a different machine which makes me think you're using an older retail Snow Leopard disc since the one that came with the iMac would check the hardware and will ONLY run on your iMac (or one like it).
     
  3. iMacccsssss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #3
    I got this imac from a friend, had win 7 on it, reinstalled it, but somehow it failed. so when i want to boot win 7 i get a black screen, and i cant install os x cause it freezes. its one of the latest versions. maybe bootcamp is old?
     
  4. wibongo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #4
    Do you have the two DVD's that came with the iMac?
     
  5. iMacccsssss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #5
    I borrowed an original snow leopard dvd from a friend of mine. I don't have the other dvd's..
     
  6. wibongo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #6
    You need to use the discs that came with the machine to install OSX, anything older will not work.
     
  7. iMacccsssss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #7
    Oke thanks, im gonna order those discs then, the ones meant for my iMac. And im going to try if that works...
     

Share This Page