Imac i7 and Logic Pro?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by roderick, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. roderick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #1
    Anyone using a new i7 with Logic Pro? How is the performance and fan noise when using a lot of plugins and recording audio?
     
  2. MacMojo1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    #2
    I run a i5 with Logic running full production mixes with a variety of synths never takes more than 100% (out of 400% -- i5). Plenty of HP in these machines. I would bump up to 8GB of ram for some additional freedom for multitasking but its not necessary.
     
  3. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #3
    That is very encouraging news. I'm in the market for either an iMac i5 or a Mac Pro for Logic Studio myself, and its good to hear that Logic can fly on the new iMacs.
     
  4. Dr. Unk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #4
    Yeah I'm running it on an i7 with 8gigs of ram like it's nothing.
     
  5. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #5
    Damn, you tempt me sir. :D

    If you don't mind me asking, how many channels and software instruments do you usually run?
     
  6. roderick thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
  7. yiswitched macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    I'm having huge issues with fan noise on my i7. I've had them ramp up all so loud you can hear them with the mix no mater what. It seems to act just like the 09 macpros from what I've been able to piece together.
     
  8. Dr. Unk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #8

    Nothing to extensive right now. Usually I'm only running software instruments through my midi keyboard or recording guitars with the effects that come with the program. I've done up to 8 tracks without a hiccup. When I get my drums in the mix I'll probably be running about 12-15.

    Also, I have no fan noise at all. Anywaysm point is, I run all of this with other programs still running and I think my system is still something like 80% idle on istat.
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    hmph! saw this thread and thought it would be great to show you - but you already have seen it :(

    when the fans ramp up a bit there is a bit of fan noise, but nothing too uncomfortable for me. i normally have music going so can hardly hear it.
     
  10. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #10
    LOL, oh thanks, but yea I'm running out of places to find the iMac vs. Mac Pro argument. This is driving me mad. Yea, thanks for the perspective on the other thread though, about gauging channel/track count.

    Ahh, I need to move on to the next thread. This is nothing but a vicious cycle :rolleyes:
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    yea kinda hard to find the specific comparisons. goodluck trying to find stuff! ill let you know if i find anything.
     
  12. joelhansenlol macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #12
    figured i'd chime in.

    i had been using a powerbook g4 from 2005 with an mbox that constantly got shafted with my OS upgrades and me being too lazy to revert, while digidesign was too lazy to update drivers. it sucked.

    i moved home and had more money to play around with finally and picked up an i7 imac and a motu 896mk3. the difference is worlds apart. i was nervous about the interface being compatible and/or the i7 being a dud. neither happened. the computer handles everything i throw at it (15 tracks or so, lots of effects and plugins) without missing a beat. the beautiful thing about it is i don't really have to consider a "performance ceiling". i might move up to 8 gigs soon, but so far i haven't really encountered any situation where i was dying for more ram. the recent 64-bit update gets me excited though.

    i don't really hear the fans unless i get close and listen in.
     
  13. roderick thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #13
    Cool. Yeah, I just don't want fan noise being picked up by my microphone.
     
  14. MacMojo1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    #14
    Oh and another thing I set up Audio I/O to 32 bits with 15 tracks playing the background, recorded my acoustic guitar track and the imac never went over 39% in istat (that's out of 400%). No popping, crackling, nothing, amazing!

    Really no need for a mac pro unless you really need the expansion slots. These machines are killer. Loving it right now.
     

Share This Page