iMac i7 Blowing away 2009 MacPro in Handbrake

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jfriedman8, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. jfriedman8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #1
    I just thought I'd post this for other HB users out there and what I am noticing. Before getting this i7 iMac that suits my spatial and work needs better than my 2009 Quad MacPro i figured the 2.8 GHz would see a slight benefit over the 2.66 in the MP. Well it is more than a slight benefit. With the MP I could never get HB to use more than like 75% of each of the 8 virtual cores or 600% total. With HB on the i7, I am getting about 740% CPU usage, about 92% per core. On the MacPro I got about 50-60 fps on the iMac I am getting 75fps with other programs running and 100+ with nothing going. My temp is at 154 F, so we'll see how long it can sustain itself.
     
  2. MesMaker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #2
    @jfriedman8: Would you be interested in planning a head to head HB test with my i5 vs your i7? Could be very interesting and helpful for others.

    On another note I'm looking to also add the MBP 13" to my stable. :)

    - MesMaker
     
  3. Uncle Pinny macrumors regular

    Uncle Pinny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Had my i7 12GB chomping away last night. Averaged 170fps and that was with Time Machine backing up at the same time!

    Yes things got toasty but nothing to worry myself about.
     
  4. MesMaker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #4
    I'm not sure what I'm doing different but I'm getting 300+ fps when rip'n from a dvd image file.... On my i5 with 8GB ram.
     
  5. Uncle Pinny macrumors regular

    Uncle Pinny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    The first pass on mine was cooking around 350fps but the 2nd pass is slower so look at the average during that pass.
     
  6. MesMaker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #6
    I still hit 200+ as finishing average. Not sure why though... and that is why I would like to do some controlled tests.
     
  7. Uncle Pinny macrumors regular

    Uncle Pinny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Interesting. Will have a 'proper' play this weekend as I rushed an encode through yesterday night.
     
  8. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #8
    It would be nice if one of you could post some relevant information such as your picture settings

    850x480 or 640x480 or 480x320

    Are you guys using presets?
    AppleTV
    Apple Universal
    iPhone
    or MKV or AVI etc...

    These will all produce different speeds so I would appreciate if you guys could add that info as it would make this thread more useful for comparisons.
     
  9. computerjunkie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #9
    12 GB of RAM? What config are you running? Just curious because I am going to do the stock 2+2 that it comes with then add 4+4 to total 12. Just curious if you were running 3 x 4 to get that 12.

    Regards,

    G.
     
  10. fukuhela macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    #10
    I couldn't agree more!!!

    It's totalyy useless to compare the framerates if they are based on different settings - like comparing oranges with pears... And please remember wich encoder you are using...

    But please keep posting your results for comparison
     
  11. Uncle Pinny macrumors regular

    Uncle Pinny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Stock 2 x 2gb plus some bought 2 x 4gb

    I encode my dvd rips to m4v h.264 720 x XXX with either ac3 passthrough or AAC 160

    I had a pre-ripped DVD image of the film 'Rushmore' on my iMac that I ran through Handbrake last night - it took just over 14 mins to encode using the settings above
     
  12. fukuhela macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    #12
    Jebus. That's unbeleivable - but I do beleive you ;)

    At those settings my computer (se my signature) would at least take 2 hours to complete encoding...
     
  13. ncc1701d macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #13
    Are you running 32 bit HB with the Pro and 64 with the new iMac?
     
  14. bcdeano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #14
    Handbrake Problems

    Hello, I'm new to the forums but figured this thread would be appropriate to comment on. I have been using HB with a 2009 MP with 2.8 coreduo and 4 GB ram without problems. I recently got the new MP with the quad core and 8 GB ram but am having problems with HB. The source DVD doesn't load as fast and the encode cancels about halfway through. I use the AppleTV preset as well as "forced only" subtitles. I also have the newest version of HB and VLC. Any thoughts why it isn't completing the encode? Thanks
     
  15. miniroll32 macrumors 6502a

    miniroll32

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #15
    Errm... Well I get 27 fps on my 2008 White MacBook :p Impressed? lol

    On a more serious note, would I notice much more difference on a 3.06 C2D?
     
  16. rayward macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #16
    Is this HD or SD encoding? I am thinking seriously about getting a 2.8 i7 because I do a lot of high-def encodes in Handbrake. My current iMac (see sig.) can take 6-8 hours to process Blu Ray down to 720p (for Apple TV), at an average of around 7 FPS. The worst thing is, I have the leave my iMac alone while it's chewing on the encode, because it cannot handle anything else.
     
  17. BigBrocktoon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #17
    My encoding time to h.246 at default quaility from MPEG in SD, from a DVD Camcorder 480 x 320 is taking about 10% of real time with HB 64 on a i7 with 8 Gigs ram with nothing else running.
     

Share This Page