Imac I7 Dead

Discussion in 'iMac' started by andreviegas, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. andreviegas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I´m very frustrated, I was a pc user for almost 15 years and in december 2009, I decided to buy the new imac 27 inch with the I7 processor, the computer arrived 24th of december, after a few days I had the flickering problem on the screen, but I Initialize the computer and that problem don´t come back again.
    Yesterday I connect the computer, but I had to left the office to make other things, since the computer after a while goes to stand-by and the screen is powered off, it seems that the computer is not working, my wife was cleaning the house and disconnected the computer from the outlet to connect the vacuum cleaner, when I come back and connected the computer to the outlet again, I only could ear the hard disk spinning, the image didn´t appear anymore (Black screen), I tried every single operation to restart the mac successefully but I didn´t managed to do it, so I had to take it for service only with 1 Month of use. I think that this kind of problems are not acceptable in a computer that costs 2000 euros.
    Could this be a software bug or other thing ? I cannot imagine that by disconnecting the computer from the outlet would create such a serious problem. I would like to ear your opinions and if this problem happened to somebody else.
     
  2. mystikjoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #2
    doesn't sound like a common occurence. i would try unplugging it for like 10 minutes then plug it back in and hold the power button for a second and see if the screen comes on. if not you're under warranty for the first year so request a replacement. you can't buy a nicer desktop for 2k anywhere period. take care!
     
  3. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #3
    make sure nothing is plugged into it, like a usb drive, etc.
     
  4. andreviegas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #4
    I disconnect the computer several times and waited for some minutes, but I wasn´t able to have image again.
    Here in Portugal the apple store don´t give us another computer, we have to take the computer for repair first and then if it takes longer then 1 month for the service, the law says that they will have to give me a brand new computer.
    This problem is very strange, in a pc when the hard disk is corrupted, we still have video, so I think that in mac happens the same, therefore I don´t find anything that could give me an hint to discover what probably happened.
     
  5. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #5
    Hey man, it's nice to see more and more ppl from the same land here :)

    First of, where did you bought it? Few people have recieved their iMacs here. Apple online, or retail store?

    The "Apple Store" (we don't have a real one, just a premium reseller lol, it's the best we got)will only give you a new one on a period of 14 days after the day of which you recieve the iMac, after that it's only repare.

    Perhaps a cable of some sort that connects the screen to the motherboard as burned or something. Take it to Interlog, in Amadora.
     
  6. JimKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #6
    I had this happen

    To fix hold down cmd+option+p+r while powering on.

    mine came back after that.
     
  7. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #7
    seriously?? lol that simple?
     
  8. andreviegas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #8
    Hi Yazuka, I buy it at Apple online and I take it to Pc Clinic in Fórum almada for repair, I spent 30 minutes with an apple guy that told me to do all that can be done to restart the computer correctly, but every time I pushed the power button, the only thing that I could ear and see was the hard disk spinning and the black screen.
     
  9. andreviegas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #9
    Thanks Jim,

    But I tried that also, I had no luck, at this moment I´m starting to believe that if there is some power failures with new Imacs conected, there will be many problems like mine. I think that the new imac have hardware and software issues and there will be more and more problems to come until they find the right recipe to trouble free all the macs.
     
  10. JimKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #10
    Mine did that after a power failure

    I thought it was dead but I could hear the hard drive and feel air flowing.

    There was no display.

    I tried that combo and it powered on.

    You might have to do it more than once.

    Oh and you need to use a wired keyboard or it will not work.
     
  11. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #11
    ohhh PC Clinic, ok! i'm not to keen to put Macs on those guys hands.

    But if the computer is already there it's just a question now to see how it goes. I said Interlog because they are part of the official representatives of Apple here in Portugal. But if PC Clinic can make the work too, that's cool :)
     

Share This Page