Imac i7 or Mac pro 8 core 3.2 gz?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Enny5, Apr 21, 2010.

1. Enny5 macrumors member

Hi guys i am about to purchase my first Mac just because of FCP. i am editor/designer by trade and i would like to learn FCP and its lovely apple color . i will be using this machine for color correction and rendering with programs such as Cinema 4d After effects and some real flow.

I will be mostly editing in HD and HDV. Should i go with Imac or mac pro. The only reason i am thinking Imac is because of the screen since i cant afford color correction monitors closes thing would be imac screen since is HD. Is there major difference in DDR2 and DDR3. My only concern that FCP apple color cant handle hd editing and hd color correction on apple color
    Any advice would help. and how can i tell if this mac pro is this year model or 2 year model

Thanks guys

Mac Pro 8-core 3.2GHz Intel Xeon
    Two 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processors
    2GB (2 x 1GB) of 800MHz DDR2 ECC fully buffered DIMM
    500GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s 7200-rpm hard drive
    Two 16x SuperDrives (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB (two dual-link DVI ports)

Or new Imac i7 with 12 gb memory

2. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

Dr.Pants

The iMac screen, while very nice (people where I live have one), some people say that outside of a light-controlled environment that it isn't too awesome for colour-correction. Not to mention if you want colour-correction you will have to buy a calibrator on top of a display - if you're just looking for IPS displays, HP, Dell, and others have some affordable options. NEC makes excellent monitors for the money and are a good step up from the first rung of IPS displays, although they'll command a higher premium.