iMac i7 or Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ricko101, Feb 14, 2010.

1. Ricko101 macrumors member

Hi there.
    I'm hoping some of you Apple veterans can help me decide on this conundrum.
    I'm relatively new to Mac. I got a MBP last year and love it. I'm now convinced to upgrade my desktop unit with Apple as well.
    With a budget of about $3k, I've done research on the Mac Pro as well as on the new iMac, and quite frankly I love that 27"(as long as it's free from defects), compare to the 22" SyncMaster I currently use, not to mention the comparison benchmarks with current Mac Pro units.
    However, I've always liked the possibility to later upgrade or add components on my desktop, which extends its lifespan for a while. I don't do heavy video editing. I use FCP for some minor projects in HD, play an occasional game or two, and so on, but I'm thinking an 8 core would last me at least 4-5 years or so, if not longer I hope.
    I know the Mac Pro is due for an upgrade very soon, but I would invest on a used 2009 model if I were to choose it.
    What are you thoughts. Anyone in the same boat ?

Many thanks.

2. xXxS1lv3rxXx macrumors newbie

I would get a refurbished Mac Pro. Although the i7 iMac is extremely powerful, you don't really need the extra power, as the Mac Pro is amazing already. If you want later upgrades to be added, definitely stay away from the iMacs. I got a Mac mini refurbed about a week ago, and it pulls most apps up in one bounce from the dock (about 1 or 2 seconds). So take that and multiply it by like 20 and there's the Mac Pro :D>. (Math is inaccurate, but you get my point :D)

3. PeterQVenkman macrumors 68020

For the same money, the iMac is faster, comes with a larger hard drive and has a 27 inch screen.