iMac i7 (with Unboxing/Setup PICS!)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zedsdead, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #1
    [​IMG]

    A walkthrough of the setup:

    [​IMG]

    Canon 860 (wireless scanning!!!!)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. iMerlin macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #2
    Oh sweet mother of God what a beauty! I have the Drobo also, what a great little machine isnt it? I just threw 4 tb WDs in there in anticipation of my i7, cant wait to have an i7 to plug it into!

    So any initial impressions regarding performance?
     
  3. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    Wow... The intro must look awsome on it... Congradz on your new machine! What are you going to be using it for?
     
  4. Theclamshell macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #4
    Very nice!!!!! the new imacs make the old gen ones look really outdated imo love the mousepad also :)
     
  5. OldCorpse macrumors 65816

    OldCorpse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    compost heap
    #5
    This is disgusting zedsdead - look what you did... now I have to change my pants, and I'm slip sliding all over the floor. Damn! This is better than the best pr0n.
     
  6. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
    #6
    your desk almost looks the same as mine. :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • dd.jpeg
      dd.jpeg
      File size:
      54.2 KB
      Views:
      628
  7. Shawnstra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    Where did you get that snow leopard mousepad? :p
     
  8. Jpoon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    SHOOPED!

    haha, but seriously; that image looks really weird o_O
     
  9. Goldie009 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #9
    Nice setup! Out of interest what do you use your computers for.

    I see a lot of money there invested in storage and storage redundancy - any particular purpose apart from safety of your music / videos / photos? Or is it to safeguard your work based data?

    Cheers!!
     
  10. thomanjones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    DC
    #10
    Hehe, I hope you ordered a new HDD for your Drobo as well, he's about to explode :D Still trying to decide between a SSD in my 2006 iMac + 2nd gen i7 iMac or an i7 now + trade in the 2006 iMac for a ton of free babysitting.

    Edit: Anyone on the fence about a Drobo (like I was for about a year) - it's the greatest thing since sliced bread. I wish I had gotten it sooner.
     
  11. jouster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #11
    Man, I'm dumb. I gotta stop showing pics like these to my wife. She can't imagine why anyone would need a 24" iMac and a 27"!

    It's not about need; it's about *want*!
     
  12. zedsdead thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #12
    I know. Had to change a few times yesterday.;)

    http://www.zazzle.com/cr/design/pt-mousepad

    It has 3 TB in it now, but I have about 450 free. It only turned orange because I moved my old iMac's iMovie onto it, which just got moved to the new machine. It will be green again once I delete the stuff I migrated over. My only issue with the Drobo is that it is not fast enough for video editing.

    I am giving the 24" to my father. I can't believe how small it looked when next to the 27. The screen blinded me for a short period of time.:eek:
     
  13. mpuck972 macrumors 6502

    mpuck972

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #13
    I'm guessing you don't have a girlfriend, or many friends, do you.
     
  14. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #14
    STOOOOP ITTT!!!!


    Your making me want to order one right now!!!

    As bad as I want one sadly I'm more in need of a mac pro :( But omg do I want a 27 inch iMac!
     
  15. mlblacy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    the REAL Jersey Shore
    #15
    on the fence about Drobo...

    Looking to upgrade my first gen white 24". I was hoping for a 30",but this is close enough given the RAM allotments. The 16gb is tempting, but the pricepoint is still a bit steep (never thought I would say $1200 is too high for 16gb). Probably going to go with 8gb, the cheapest way possible, and just toss the chips when the 4gb chips come down.

    Anyhow, have been looking at the Drobos. I have a pretty large (75k) image library total, plus archived publications that eat up a lot of room. I hear complaints of slowness. Is that just using the network accessible attachment? I don't work in video, but I do a lot in Aperture, which is starting to creak a bit. Any advice you can offer on the Drobos is appreciated. It seems the 1.5tb drives are the bargain now, at a little over $109 each.

    Also, there is only one Firewire port on the 27". Are you running your Drobo through that, or on one of USB 2's?
    Are there any external ports on the back of the Drobo for daisy chaining add'l external drives? Or can you put the Drobo at the end of a chain? I have a bunch of firewire drives now, even with the Drobo I will probably keep them for add'l backup and storage of less accessed data.
    michael
     
  16. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #16
    I like the shape of that printer. Wireless Scanning? :eek: I didn't know that existed. Gosh. Maybe I want that.
     
  17. bdeitemeyer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #17
    Wow, nice setup. I can't wait till my identical i7 arrives Tuesday after seeing yours!
     
  18. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
  19. zedsdead thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #19
    I run the Drobo into the Firewire 800 port on the iMac, and the OWC-Raid into the Drobo. Basically the Drobo is always connected as it is my itunes library.

    I know! It's a downside of the glass desks when you have so many external devices...:(

    The Drobo is too slow for video editing which is a real shame. I would be careful and research it first before you buy it for Aperture.
     
  20. mlblacy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    the REAL Jersey Shore
    #20
    Zed, so there are external ports on the Drobo (cool). I will keep reading up regarding Aperture. On the NIK forums and website, I know they are pushing the Drobo, and even offer a 15% discount if you use the code "NIKDROBO". Aperture still functions fine on my white 24" which only has 3gb ram... I have to think it will run better with the 8gb and the faster processors. I do experience some beachballs here and there, but I usually have a bunch of other stuff open at the same time. Usually a restart fixes it, and I did a library rebuild that also helped a bit. Anyhow, will probably wait until the next fiscal year starts, or maybe until after tax time (ugh). Hopefully Aperture 3.0 will be out by then as well...
    cheers,
    michael
     
  21. zedsdead thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #23
    No Problem:cool:
     

Share This Page