iMac insomniac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kixsand, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. kixsand macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Hello people,

    I've been having an issue with getting my iMac to sleep at night. I've traced the issue to a new belkin 4 port USB hub that I've recently added. If I unplug the hub she sleeps like a baby...if the hub is plugged in she sleeps for about 5 seconds before bolting upright as if awoken from a nightmare.

    :D

    I've checked at the Belkin website but have not been able to find mention of the issue or a solution. I purchased the hub at The Apple Store in Toronto, Yorkdale but have lost the receipt for it. You'd think if Apple was selling it then it would work properly.

    Anyone run into this before and know how to fix it?

    Anyone using a different usb hub with a 24" iMac that they would recommend?

    thanks,


    darren
     
  2. BlakTornado Guest

    BlakTornado

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    Washington, OH
    #2
    This doesn't answer your question, but at night, why not turn off your Mac rather than putting it to sleep? It'll save more power meaning that you'll get a smaller electricity bill :p
     
  3. kixsand thread starter macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Well...good question. I was about to agree with you and then I remembered the Eye TV that I have set to record John Stewart and Colbert every night when I'm in bed. That's why I need it to sleep.

    Darren
     
  4. NickD macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    Hmm. USB hubs don't cost all that much. Might I suggest purchasing something like a Griffin and trying it out? It's not like it'll be that huge of an expense.

    Still, you might just try to find some way to turn the iMac off at night (live without John Stewart or Colbert?) and solve the whole thing instantly and for free.

    NickD
     
  5. kixsand thread starter macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    I don't know that I can put a value on Stewart & Colbert. In fact I'm offended that you'd even suggest such a thing! You might as well suggest that I remove my eye's so that I won't even know whether my computer is sleeping or not!
     
  6. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #6
    If your usb hub is powered off the computers usb, then thats why it wont sleep. however, if it is self powered it should sleep.

    reason being is for the computer to sleep, everything has be be inactive for whatever time you set it to sleep. You can however just put the display to sleep and keep the computer on... which is what I suspect you're doing?
     
  7. NickD macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    I am ashamed :p
     
  8. PostTribber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Woodland, CA
    #8
    I have a Sawtooth that I always put to sleep. in Mac years it's about my age, so it sleeps as often as I do.
     
  9. kixsand thread starter macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
     
  10. Grasbak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I have a belkin hub and the exact same problem. When i plugged my eyetv into the hub my imac wouldnt sleep.

    Once i plugged it into the back of the mac - problem solved.

    Can't u just plug the eye tv into the mac and other devices into the hub (presuming they dont cause the same problem)?

    I emailed elgato and they know about the problem - but say they cant fix it.
     
  11. kixsand thread starter macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    Well that must be it!

    My Eye TV is plugged into the hub. I hadn't thought of moving things around to see if it would fix the issue.

    I will plug the Eyetv into the computer directly and hope for the best.

    Thank you kind sir!

    Sincerely,

    darren of toronto
     

Share This Page