iMac Intel 2.0 GHz Slow Performance --- Please Help

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ayasinsk, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. ayasinsk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #1
    Hi. I bought stock iMac 2.0 Ghz 20" about half a year ago, then updated from Tiger to Leopard. The computer used to be very snappy with very quick boot time. I portioned the hard drive to use XP via bootcamp. My partition is 15GB. Around same time I noticed my iMac started to slow down and wasn't as quick as it used to be. Now the boot time into Leopard is MUCH slower then it used to be. My specs are:

    1GB Ram
    2.0 Ghz
    250 GB HD.

    I tried optimizing my computer through ONYX utility, but did not notice a difference. Any suggestions?

    Alex
     
  2. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    theres your problem, leopard is a ram hog

    upgrade to 4gb here only $74.99, itll be the best thing you've ever done
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Leopard is slower to boot than Tiger, check your Login items and remove unnecessary items from the list :)
     
  4. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    and add more ram:D
     
  5. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    It doesn't really affect boot time. Hard drive speed is the biggest factor.
     
  6. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    iGrant

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Abingdon
    #6
    I would recommend this Patriot ram from Newegg:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220229

    Yeah its a little more expensive but its honestly the best ram I have ever used. I put Patriot ram in my Macbook, my Power Mac G5, and my wife's Dell Laptop. I have never had to a single stick and it just works.

    -iGrant
     
  7. D4F Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #7
    I never reached that point nor I am sure if you can but have you tried defragmenting the HD?
     
  8. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    iGrant

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Abingdon
    #8
    I have defragmented my hard drives before on my Macs but I have only noticed a slight and mean very slight improvement on my machines. It might help you though. I used this product to defrag my hard drives:
    http://www.coriolis-systems.com/iDefrag.php

    Mac OS X has always run well, however the more memory you give your Mac the better its going to perform. I could tell a huge difference in my Power Mac G5 when I went from 2gb ram to 4gb ram. It just seems to breath better in a sense . . .

    -iGrant
     

Share This Page