Imac + Ipod now, or Macbook when "updated"?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by bwillmont, Aug 17, 2008.

1. bwillmont macrumors newbie

Hey, I need some help figuring out what I want to get/need. I've been using my trusty quicksilver G4 for 4 years now and its time for an update (i've been saving for like a year).

I can't decide whether to spend my money on the bottom of the line Imac and get the free ipod touch, or wait to see what happens with this crazy Macbook update that everyone is so tweaked out about.

Currently I don't NEED the portability of a laptop, but I am hoping not to buy another competer for a while and can see this being advantageous in the future. I am an artist (which is my excuse for being broke) and will hopefully be attending residencies in the future, but will have to keep up on freelance design projects and my book/print publishing "business". these residencies would be 1 month to a year, so it seems feasible that i could transport the Imac. PLUS since the Ipod touch has wireless i can do emailing on the go which is a big part of wanting a laptop in the first place.

If i were to get the macbook i would often want to use it with external peripherals at my desk just like I am working at my G4 now, though it would be cool to be able to bring it into my studio or work while hanging out with roomates.

Im concerned about the power id get with each. either way I would probably get the core 2 duo 2.4 and they seem pretty similar but I think there are factors Im not taking into consideration.

Everyone talks about the Macbook like its only great as a media playing web surfing college kid apparatus, but since its like 500 times better than my current setup it seems like it should handle CS3 fine (i mostly use photoshop, dreamweaver and indesign, but would like to be able to use after affects minimally)