iMac is losing connection

Discussion in 'iMac' started by andrewoc, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. andrewoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #1
    I have no idea what's wrong. I tried reinstalling os x with no luck.

    21.5" 3.06GHz 4GB ram 500GB hd

    iChat keeps disconnecting, pages and youtube vids load extremely slow(about 1min to load this post page).

    Need some help thanks :D
     
  2. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #2
    Wireless?

    If so, what happens when you plug in using ethernet?
     
  3. andrewoc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #3
    Yes, also forgot to mention the connection displays as full. I can't plug it into an ethernet either.
     
  4. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #4
    I'm having the same issue on a 2.4 13 mb.

    I have reinstalled the os.
    Reset the router.
    Called the cable company.
    Changed the DSL Modem.

    And it can't hold a connection for more than 3 minutes without disconnecting itself even though it shows it is connected. I hate this machine right now it is completely useless. It's like i'm working off a modem from the 90's
     
  5. AlaskaMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #5
    How about accessing the router's software and setting the router the way you want first? For example, I have a Belkin wireless G Plus, so I enter the following address on Safari: 192.168.2.1

    This gets me to the router's settings. Under LAN Settings, I set the Lease time to "Forever."

    I also make sure that the Connection Time box is not check-marked. If you have set your router to Wireless, then read the instructions next to each setting you decided to choose or change. The OS is that last thing I would think as being the problem. You can test your network by trying another computer.
    -------
    More than likely your problems are related to your modem, router, network, or ISP. The computer usually doesn't drop-off; something in the network disconnects the communication. It's also possible that some of your neighbors are sharing your network, specially if you have a wireless network without password.
     
  6. AlaskaMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #6
    How come you can't wire it to the router with an ethernet cable?
     
  7. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #7
    Are you using someone else's internet?
     
  8. AlaskaMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #8
    Good question :)
     
  9. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #9
    i dont' know if you're using and apple router, but if you are try changing the multicast rate in the settings, this helped me.
     

Share This Page