iMac is this a good deal

Discussion in 'iMac' started by baypharm, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. baypharm macrumors 65816

    baypharm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #1
    I am thinking of buying an iMac 2.0 Core 2 Duo 17" screen, it looks new condition. in every way. It comes with 1gb ram but I think I can upgrade to 3gb or 4gb. It is from a local seller from Craigs list. I went over to have a look and tested it and everything worked great. He is asking $700 for it. Is this a good deal or am I overpaying? I have new macs but saw this and thought well hell it might be worth getting to play with.

    I can't seem to find much info on it. Here is the Model # MA590LL/A

    Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. VoodooDaddy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    #2
  3. ryannel2003 macrumors 68000

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #3
    I paid $906 (with tax) for the same model on Apple's refurbished site. Mine's been really great, so I say go for it!
     
  4. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #4
    does it have, or can you get,applecare on it? if it has applecare, make sure he transfers it to your name.

    unless it was bought or manufactured less than a year ago, it doesn't qualify for applecare. if that's the case, and a part on your logicboard goes out a year from now, you're screwed.

    they had the same thing on the refurbed apple site for 850, and they come with one year of applecare, and you can buy another two.
     
  5. baypharm thread starter macrumors 65816

    baypharm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for the info. I don't like the current generation iMacs because of the glossy screen. I believe that the anti-glare screen is no longer an option on iMacs.
     
  6. baypharm thread starter macrumors 65816

    baypharm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #6
    I don't think it has Applecare on it but I will check the serial number to see if it is available. Thanks for the info
     
  7. baypharm thread starter macrumors 65816

    baypharm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #7
    Great! Glad to hear that. I think if I am not mistaken it will hold 4gb of ram. Thanks for your help!
     
  8. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #8
    It will see 4 gigs, but only use 3.2. Apple only supports 3 on the white C2D's anyway.
     
  9. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland

Share This Page