Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wazzup1001

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 20, 2020
Hi all, hope everyone is well.

If anyone could help that would be greatly appreciated,

Firstly, I've searched around the forums to find an answer, but ended up more confused that enlightened ^^

So I thought I'd ask.

Currently have a late 2012, 21.5 inch i5 8gb RAM, NVIDIA 512mb, 1T hard drive.

Would like to know what would be a modest upgrade that will make the machine faster.

Should I upgrade RAM/put in an SSD?

Any suggestions & directions to other threads are much appreciated.

Note: I am new to apple / iMac, just started using one for a couple of months.

Juicy Box

macrumors 604
Sep 23, 2014
My main Mac is a Late 2012 iMac.

You could let us know what OS you are currently using, and what you do with your Mac?

Should I upgrade RAM
This totally depends on your own usage. 8GB is plenty for some, really low for others.

You can use this guide from Apple to determine if more RAM would be appropriate for you:

If you let us know what apps you typically use or plan on using, we can give suggestions.

put in an SSD?
Myself and just about anyone with knowledge of Macs will suggest you to use an SSD. This alone would be a huge upgrade for your, especially if you are currently using Catalina.

You don't necessarily need to open your Mac, but that would be the cheapest way to get a fast SSD with TRIM support. You would get about 600MBps read speeds using this method.

The next cheapest and easiest way is to use a SSD over USB3. The downside of this is that it won't be as fast as other options, and it will not have TRIM support. But, it is really cheap. In the US, you can get a 1TB SATA SSD and a SATA/USB3 adapter for about $90. If you get a cheap enclosure, it might cost you $100. Speeds would max out about 400-450MBps for read.