imac (late 2013) screen flashes to black

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rzaza, Feb 19, 2014.

  1. rzaza macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #1
    Hi,

    First of all here is my configuration:

    Processor: 3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphic card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M
    16 Go 1600 MHz DDR3
    System: OS X 10.9.1

    The problem: the screen randomly flashes to black for a second. It occurred for no particular reason.

    Here is a video of the problem: https://vimeo.com/87096982

    What I've done so far: -Resetting the VRAM and PRAM
    -Resetting the SMC
    -Turn it off, unplug it and plug it back in.

    Why I don't think it's the graphic card: When I plugged my imac to my tv using the thunderbolt port it works fine on the tv screen but it still flashes to black on my imac.

    Any suggestions ?

    Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    At this point, I'd get an external hard drive of some sort, and install OS X on it, so you have a fresh install without having to wipe your existing installation. If you're still having issues, to the Apple Store with you!
     
  3. rzaza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for the advice, Im gonna try it today. I'll let you know.
     
  4. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #4


    Boot into Safe mode (restart, hold 'shift' at the boot chime).

    If you get the flashes, restart again but hold down 'alt' and boot into Recovery Mode.

    If the issue persists (pretty much ruling out a software issue) - call AppleCare to log a ticket ASAP.


    If you only get flashes in normal boot mode, it could be software related - i.e. a driver/kext issue which AppleCare can help you resolve.
     
  5. simon201 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #5
    Mine does exactly that when I turn my television on (but only then). I have it connected all the time via the Thunderbolt/Minidisplay port.

    Is it something to do with the connection between your iMac and the external display?
     

Share This Page