iMac Mail keeps on asking for password???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iozziie, Jan 15, 2011.

1. iozziie macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

On my iMac the mail app keeps on jumping up and asking for my email address passwords every 5 - 10 mins. Has anyone else had the same problem? anyone have a solution because it can be really annoying. :mad:

iozzie

2. munkery macrumors 68020

munkery

Are the keychain entries for Mail stored in your Login keychain?

If yes, is your Login keychain your default keychain? Do you have your Login keychain set to remain unlocked?

The behaviour you are noticing will occur if your Mail keychain entries are not in your login keychain or your login keychain is not set to remain unlocked.

3. iozziie thread starter macrumors newbie

i dont know, i'm new at this. Can you please explain how to do/ check it?

4. munkery macrumors 68020

munkery

In the Utilities folder under Applications, launch the app called "Keychain Access."

Check to see if entries for your email account in the keychain called "Login."

Check the preferences for "Keychain Access" from the apps drop down menu beside the :apple: in the upper left corner. I believe the settings for the Login keychain are on the second tab of preferences.

5. iozziie thread starter macrumors newbie

Both the "set login keychain as default" and "keep login keychain unlocked" boxes are ticked. What should i do?

6. munkery macrumors 68020

munkery

That's good, that's how those setting are by default.

What about the mail entries?

What keychains do you have? Login & System?

7. iozziie thread starter macrumors newbie

The system has my wireless/airport entries in it....

The login has entries of alot of apps... like my internet passwords for mail, mobileme, skype etc. My mail entries are repeated several times.

8. munkery macrumors 68020

munkery