iMac making more noise than normal

Discussion in 'iMac' started by PaperMacWriter, May 16, 2009.

  1. PaperMacWriter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #1
    I was watching WWDC 2003(panther intro) this morning, and I only just learned about Fast Account Switching from it. So, right after watching, I went to system preferences and enabled fast switching. However, right after I did this, my iMac made an unusually loud whir, which I assumed was the hard drive loading some files, although I have never heard it do this before. After about a minute of hearing this, I assumed that something was wrong, and I quit all applications other than system preferences, and when it didn't stop, I disabled Fast Switch. The iMac quickly quieted down.

    After thinking about it, I realized that I only had 1GB of RAM in the machine, which may cause the system to use virtual memory. Would having 2GB or even 4GB make this not happen, or would I need more than that? I never have noticed the iMac lagging in other areas, but would RAM help in general tasks too? Thanks!
    SG :apple:
     
  2. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #2
    bump(I really don't know if there's a certain amount of time untill you should bump a thread, I'm new to forums:eek:)
    SG :apple:
     
  3. MacAndy74 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    RAM is cheap and generally easy to upgrade on any iMac ;) so splash out and get some new DDR2 or DDR3 - check 'About this Mac'. I would suggest that virtual memory swapping went through the roof when you selected Fast Account Switching, causing the HDD to go cra-a-a-a-zy. :D
     
  4. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #4
    For 4GB of RAM from my local Mac specialist it costs about $120($60 for each stick). Any idea where I could get factory original 2GB sticks? Its a 2007 alu iMac 24" 2.4GHz. Glad to hear its not a heat issue:D
    Thanks!
    SG :apple:
    EDIT: I found that OWC has some factory original Samsung RAM for $60. I think I'll get that, unless Micron or Techworks would be better. Thanks!
     
  5. MacAndy74 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    If you want real quality RAM with less possible problems, look into getting buffered / ECC RAM. But the unbuffered will be fine. Good luck!
     
  6. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #6
    What will the difference be from norm to ECC? Will it do anything to system performance? I'm really content with the 1 gig I have now, but I would like to have multiple accounts running. Would 4GB be enough for that, and an app or two in each account?
    SG :apple:
     
  7. MacAndy74 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    ECC generally means better system stability. AFAIK.

    Here's some more reading at source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAM_parity

    4GB of RAM will be just perfect for your needs and will keep your iMac running nice and smooth when you want to do more. ;)
     
  8. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #8
    ...www.newegg.com or OWC are great places to look for RAM.

    Stick with Crucial, Kingston or Corsair brands, they have proven track records of reliability.
     
  9. PaperMacWriter thread starter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #9
    Hmmm... where can I get this ECC RAM? And how much more would it cost:confused: I don't want to break the bank for this.

    Good to hear that 4GB would be enough. I would certainly hope so:D
    SG :apple:
     

Share This Page