iMac/MBP Dilemma

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by louismgrafix, Feb 11, 2008.

1. louismgrafix macrumors newbie

I've been following this site daily now since just before the MacWorld conference awaiting a new iMac or MBP.

I own a G4 17" iMac (will be 6 years old in August). I've never had a problem with it but I am a graphic designer-movie editor-3d/2d animator, so it's just not cutting it anymore. Not to mention I have my M.F.A. 3d animation thesis that needs to be finished in May, which I want my new Mac to handle the editing in Final Cut Pro and compositing in After Effects.

So I'm so back and forth as to whether to get the MBP (15" 2.4ghz) or the iMac (not sure which). I love having a laptop (I have a HP 17" laptop), especially a mac one (it's kind of embarrassing sometimes having this HP / I would not be as cool as I could be if I didn't have a MBP to play with in Starbucks). In all seriousness, if I do get the MBP, I'd have to get a bigger monitor for at home use considering the work that I do. Now would I be able to do a dual monitor setup for a MBP?

What are the differences in the 24" iMac processors? Is the extra .4ghz that classifies it has "extreme" and the 2.4 ghz is just a "core 2 duo"?

I'm holding out a little longer on my purchase, but I don't know how much longer I can take it. HELP!!!

2. louismgrafix thread starter macrumors newbie

I forgot to mention the graphics card differences. I'm assuming the NVIDIA in the MBPs are better than the ATI Radeon's in the iMac. Is that correct?

And if I do get an iMac, I will definitely be getting this to go with it.

3. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

if you don't need portability get the iMac

cheaper, plus you wont have to spend hundreds more getting a good LCD..

and yes the MBP 8600m GT is better than the ATI 2600Pro by a bit, but unless you play games, you wont notice at all, and even then the fps isnt that much different

4. cy88 macrumors member

cy88