iMac memories

Discussion in 'iMac' started by imacuser51, Nov 5, 2008.

  1. imacuser51 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Location:
    Mexico
    #1
    Hello everyone:

    I'm new here, just registered yesterday, and I come with you fine folks with a question. But first a little background info.

    I switched over from the "dark side" a little more than a year-and-a-half ago (February 2007) since I bought an Intel Core 2 Duo iMac. It's been great! I never expected such elegance and ease of use. No one will ever convince me to switch back to Windows again... except for one thing: most of the software used in my line of business is Windows specific! I've been working with one particular program that's free and platform independent, but I've lost clients that don't like the idea of any compatibility issues. So I'm thinking, not about ditching my beloved iMac, but of integrating Windows with Parallels Desktop. Now, here's the problem. PD requires at least 1GB of memory, and that's all I have in my iMac, so I need to purchase another memory stick.

    My question is: is there any potential danger if I mistakenly buy a memory that's not designed for my particular iMac? I went to Apple's store (http://store.apple.com/us/memoryfamily/ME_IMAC_PREV_W) and I can't seem to find my version of iMac. The memory modules for an Intel Core Duo iMac (White, first generation) with a 17" screen are only about 512MB, but I remember distinctly that my iMac has a capacity of 3GB and I don't think there are that many slots. A second set of memory sticks is for 1.83 processors; these are 1GB (and cheaper), but my processor is 2 GHz. :eek: The third set is for 2.0+ processors, but there are no memories in stock at the moment.

    Am I screwed or could I safely buy the 1GB for a lesser processor?

    Thank you in advanced! ;)
     
  2. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #2
    Welcome!

    It's usually better to buy memory from a 3rd party because Apple overcharges for them.

    Check out Crucial.com
     
  3. imacuser51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Location:
    Mexico
    #3
    Many thanks, my good sir! You have cut my expenses in half! :)
     
  4. jvlog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #4
    first off welcome to the forum
    A general rule of thumb around here is don't buy your memory from apple. I work for an apple reseller and we don't even buy apple's ram It's very much over priced and not anybetter than any other compatable ram you will find else where. I would recomend crucial.com they have a great section to easly find the right memory for your mac. To answer your origanal question the ram from the other mac should work just fine should you choose to go that rout

    Also just incase your interested sun's "virtual box" is a great free alternitave to paralells and VM ware. It's worth takeing a test drive if you haven't goten paralells yet

    Srry for spelling/gramer did this @ school on my iPhone
     
  5. joelw135 macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #5
    www.crucial.com has a scanner for Mac and it tells you what to buy and the cost.
     
  6. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #6
    OWC is another good place to buy RAM... it's where I got mine from.
     
  7. imacuser51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Location:
    Mexico
    #7
    Thanks a lot guys. I'm now looking more deeply into VMWare and Virtual Box. :cool:
     
  8. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #8
    By the way, when I saw this thread title, I thought it was going to be a thread reminiscing about the older iMacs.
     
  9. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #9
    Me too. "There I was, huddling in the candle lit cabin, wondering how to start the Blueberry without electricity..."
     
  10. bking1000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #10
    I vote for OWC --- www.macsales.com. But also if you are going to run Windows as a virtual machine, put in 3-4GB (is it a white iMac or Alum? White maxes out at 3GB, Alum at 4GB)
     

Share This Page