Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

niggiebro

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 4, 2003
City of Angels
I'm not to familiar with my iMac, although I am a IT Professional when it comes to PC's.

Every now and then my iMac hangs, usually when using my web browser, and especially using a download prog., like LimeWire.

I also get some memory error messages, but since then I've add more RAM and adjusted my virtual memory to 2 times the amount of my physical memory, (192 MB). CPU speed is 400Mhz, disk is 10GB and using less than 1/4 of space.

Question is the best way to resolve the problem, by tweaking something!

simX

macrumors 6502a
May 28, 2002
Bay Area, CA
It sounds like you're using Mac OS 9, given that you've been getting out of memory errors and that you increased the allotted amount of virtual memory. (A confirmation of this would be nice, just to make sure. :) )

When you mention web browsers, the first thing that pops into my mind is Netscape 4.x . Netscape Communicator (and maybe even the standalone Navigator) has a NOTORIOUS problem for hanging at random when loading web pages.

If you're always using Netscape when the hang happens, then it's probably this problem. I'd suggest using some other browser. On Mac OS 9, I think that Mozilla would probably be your best bet.

There are some other standard troubleshooting things you can try, like turning off all unnecessary extensions (by going to the Extensions Manager control panel and selecting "Mac OS 9.x.x Base", then restarting), zapping the PRAM (restart, immediately hold down Command-Option-P-R, and wait for 4 startup chimes), or rebuilding your desktop file (restart, hold down the Command and Option keys after the initial startup progress bar has completed).

Let us know if any of those potential solutions correct the hanging problem you're experiencing.

FattyMembrane

macrumors 6502a
Apr 14, 2002
bat country