iMac memory

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gsghert01, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. gsghert01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #1
    I'm a photographer who uses Lightroom and Photoshop (occasionally).

    I'm interested in buying a 27* iMac to replace an i5 Dell which is giving me fits (support told me to resolve issue I'd have to reinstall Windows but I just did that last week !!).

    I hear that Apple's RAM is too pricey. Certainly that is true for upgrade to 32 GB (upcharge of $ 600). OWC is charging $ 198.99 for 2x8GB and $ 397.99 for 4x8GB http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/iMac/2012_27/DDR3L. Crucial is selling 2x8GB for $ 171.99 http://www.crucial.com/upgrade/Apple-memory/iMac/iMac+%2827-inch,+Late+2013%29-upgrades.html

    Should I get the machine with 8GB and boost it to 24GB with the 2x8GB sticks?

    I've installed RAM in PC's before but never a Mac. Not sure I feel comfortable doing it on such an expensive machine.
     
  2. quagmire macrumors 603

    quagmire

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #2
    Installing RAM on the 27" iMac is easy.

    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/iMac+Intel+27-Inch+EMC+2639+RAM+Replacement/20249

    As for what I would do is order the iMac with 16 GB of RAM as Apple's up charge for 16 GB is only $200 which is inline with Crucial and OWC. Then order Crucial's 2x8GB kit on Amazon for $140. Or you could just buy two of that kit for a total of $280 and sell the stock RAM sticks. I bought 16 GB of RAM from Apple when I ordered my iMac because it was only $180 for me since I got the EDU discount and I didn't want to deal with the 2x4 GB sticks when bumping it to 2x8 GB.
     
  3. Spinnetti macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    +1 to Quagmires idea <giggidy-giggidy>

    I recently got an iMac, and did it how you mentioned, but if you want to max it out, quag's way seems best... Putting memory in is super easy, though the little door didn't open very easy on my 27"
     
  4. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #4
    +1 again to Quagmire, because his suggestion is exactly what I did as well. I ordered the iMac with 16GB and then bought the Crucial 2x8GB on Amazon for $135 (now $140). This way there is no RAM to remove or replace.
     
  5. gsghert01 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #5
    Thanks all.

    Now I'll be checking the ole bank account, and hope the Dell doesn't require a second complete OS reinstall in as many weeks!:D
     

Share This Page