iMac mid 2011 Ram issue?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cpnotebook80, Feb 14, 2017.

  1. cpnotebook80 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Hello all, So i bought this imac from a friend. It had 12 GB of ram. 4x4 and then 2x2 below in the slots.
    I decided to upgrade and had 2 spares of total 16gb in 2x4gb (8gb each) module. The specs are the right ones too from Mushkin.

    I removed the exiting 2x2gb ram and put the 8gb ones in. So I should have 24gb with 4x4 on top and 8x8 bottom.

    When I boot up, I still see the old config showing up as 4x4 and 2x2. I did the PRAM etc etc n still shows the original ram. Mind you it does boot up bit faster or seem to load onto desktop so not sure if something is amiss. I don't get any ram errors either.
     
  2. nollimac macrumors regular

    nollimac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #2
    What the system profiler says (Apple icon >about this Mac > memory tab)? Are you sure the "spare" is compatible?
     
  3. cpnotebook80 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Ok just checked the ram is not compatible.

    My imac is MD063LL/A
     
  4. nollimac macrumors regular

    nollimac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #4
    You're lucky you didn't damage your Mac...RAM is a critical component...never add RAM before checking system requirement for compatibility...you would have voided any warranty.
     

Share This Page