• Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

Kris Hodgetts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2020
9
0
so i bought a 2011 imac to work on instead of my macbook, works fine, today after 2 weeks of using it i moved it to another room, no power at all, tried the socket and theres power, tried another imac cable still nothing, could it be the button or the power supply unit? is there any way to tell, ive had the thing unplugged for over an hour still nothing :(
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G4
Jul 30, 2003
11,062
3,107
Delaware
Did you try moving your iMac back to the original power outlet?
Be sure to also double-check the seating of the power cable in the back of the iMac?
 
Comment

Kris Hodgetts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2020
9
0
ive tried 2 different cables and multiple plugs, deffo hardware related.
 
Comment

DeltaMac

macrumors G4
Jul 30, 2003
11,062
3,107
Delaware
There's a row of 4 LEDs on the front of the logic board.
LED #1 shows the power supply trickle voltage, whenever the power cord is connected.
If there is no LED showing, then that's another way to tell quickly that the power supply is dead.
 
Comment

DeltaMac

macrumors G4
Jul 30, 2003
11,062
3,107
Delaware
The power supply? You linked a possible one to purchase in your post #3. That's the correct part.
Or, search for 661-5299 --- that's Apple's part number for that power supply. There's other sites that specialize in getting you parts that are warrantied (and don't have the hassle that eBay might have, just my opinion)
 
Comment

Kris Hodgetts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2020
9
0
so my model is a1311, are all the power sups the same number? when i slowly plug the plug in the back you can here it make that little crackle when plugging it in.
 
Comment

DeltaMac

macrumors G4
Jul 30, 2003
11,062
3,107
Delaware
Yes.
The A1311 all use the same power supply.
The A1311 was 2009 - 2011 iMac, 21.5-inch

I recommend that a final check would be to try checking for the troubleshooting LEDs. I think you can see those LEDs, if you remove the RAM access door on the bottom of the display, then plug in the power cord.(No need to try the power button, power should be there when you plug in the power cord!) Get the iMac in an angle, probably laying flat on its back, so you can see inside that RAM area. You SHOULD see the glow of one or more LEDS inside, a bit beyond where the RAM slots are. If you don't see any LEDs inside, then, there's no evidence of "trickle" voltage from the power supply. It needs that to boot up. No LEDS, power supply is dead.
 
Comment

Kris Hodgetts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2020
9
0
Verdict is..... Nothing. no led's at all when i tried it, do you know what i mean about a crackle when you slowy plug something in a socket? im guessing thats just because 3 connectors are meeting pins with a current. 100% will be the power supply then?
 
Comment

DeltaMac

macrumors G4
Jul 30, 2003
11,062
3,107
Delaware
Yes, I think the crackle that you hear when you plug in, only means that something is making a circuit. It does NOT mean that power is going anywhere. Could be that the input circuit works, but nothing after. All it takes is one blown transistor, or a failed capacitor somewhere. Does that make it 100% likely failure? yeah. The key for you is the LED (or the lack of an LED, this time ) :cool:
 
Comment

Kris Hodgetts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2020
9
0
haha, Appreciate you time this evening man :) will reply when i replace the power supply :D
 
Comment

Kris Hodgetts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2020
9
0
Failed,
[automerge]1586190474[/automerge]
this is what came out...
[automerge]1586190543[/automerge]
this is what came, put it in and the fan was constantly whiring, would this is because its not exactly looking the same ?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4166.JPG
    IMG_4166.JPG
    447 KB · Views: 60
  • IMG_0824.JPG
    IMG_0824.JPG
    355.3 KB · Views: 70
Comment

Kris Hodgetts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2020
9
0
so we have life, had to replace the ribbon to the lcd. just wondering why the fan noise is constantly spinning at full rpm? could this be to the fact of a different variation of replacement power unit, even though it was suggested this one would be fine?

cheers.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.