iMac Not Booting Up After Installing RAM

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Gregger84, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. Gregger84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    #1
    I have a Mid-2007 20 inch iMac that has been running on 2GB of memory since I bought it. Recently I decided to upgrade the memory, and purhased 2x 2GB PC2-5300 667MHZ DDR2 Sdram from Amazon, which I am 99% certain is what I required (Apple's website doesn't sell memory for my desktop anymore, but a few months ago this is what it told me I needed).

    Anyway, when I remove the 2x 1GB ram and replace it with the 2x 2GB ram, I hear the chime but there is no display whatsoever. So there are 3 possibilities in my mind:

    1) what I purchased is faulty
    2) I bought the wrong type of RAM
    3) I'm an idiot and installed it wrong

    Option 3 is least likely, because while I AM an idiot sometimes, I installed it exactly the same as I removed it. If anyone has any ideas or suggestions, I'd love to hear them. Thanks, guys.
     
  2. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #2
    Re-seat it. If that doesn't work then reinstall the 2x 1GB. If that doesn't work then it's time to break down in tears...
     
  3. Gregger84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    #3
    Yeah, I've done that a few times already. Thankfully the 2x 1GB still works, i was just hoping to make it a bit faster.
     
  4. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Try the new sticks one at a time.
     
  5. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #5
    Sounds like the right stuff, assuming it's non-ECC and unbuffered.

    Have you tried to establish whether you've been unlucky and received one duff chip? They don't *need* to be paired, so it's easy enough to work out if either one is bad, or if one slot doesn't want to play.

    This thread might be your friend (albeit the bearer of bad news)...
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2172142
     
  6. Gregger84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    #6
    This actually worked for me, thank you. I don't know why I didn't think of this on my own, but my system is already running much smoother with just 1GB more than before. Thanks again, everyone.
     
  7. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #7
    So have you established that one of the new chips is bad, or is it that your computer just won't accept both of them at the same time?
     
  8. Gregger84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    #8
    It just didn't accept them both at the same time. Both chips work fine when installed one at a time.
     
  9. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    Right. This is the next step. Glad your system is up and running again, though.
     

Share This Page