imac not getting gigabit?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by SuperMiguel, Apr 2, 2012.

  1. SuperMiguel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #1
    So i have my 27" mid 2011 iMac connected to a brand new gigabit switch whom is connected to an airport extreme. using a cat 5e ethernet cable... When i open the network utility the link speed is 100 Mbit/s
     
  2. itickings, Apr 2, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2012

    itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #2
    Check System Preferences, Network, Ethernet, Advanced..., Ethernet. What does it say?

    If everything looks good there, try with another device to make sure the cable and the switch are all right.
     
  3. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #3
    i tried going to System Preferences, Network, Ethernet, Advanced, hardware and changing it there to 1000 and it didnt get an ip, got an error saying that the cable got disconnected, changed it back to auto and got an ip right away.
     
  4. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    Definitely would check the cable. I've replace two in the last couple years that went bad.
     
  5. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #5
    gigabit requires all 8 wires in the cable, 10/100 only require 4, you should be able to look through the connector to check if they're all connected.

    (10/100 uses pin 1,2,3, and 6)
     
  6. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #6
    Also look at the switch. Is is a managed switch ? Does it have a web page ?

    It might be that the switch has a default that isn't Gigabit (unlikely). My money would be on a defective cable.
    What does the cable say on the outer layer (usually there is a long text message that winds along the length of the cable) ?
     

Share This Page