Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mac2004

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 17, 2004
Should I buy an iMac or iPad? I mostly work at home and I work in the desktop publishing business. Does anyone expect a new iMac to be released in the next 6 months or so or has it been upgraded? I kind of like the new 27 inch model but not sure what kind of reviews it has gotten.

Also, which iPad is the best one to get for just email, browsing the Internet, Facebook, and showing photos?

Dj64Mk7

macrumors 65816
Sep 15, 2013
Should I buy an iMac or iPad? I mostly work at home and I work in the desktop publishing business. Does anyone expect a new iMac to be released in the next 6 months or so or has it been upgraded? I kind of like the new 27 inch model but not sure what kind of reviews it has gotten.

Also, which iPad is the best one to get for just email, browsing the Internet, Facebook, and showing photos?

Based on the MacRumors Buyer's Guide, the iMac is mid-cycle, which means that a new one will probably be released in 8 or 9 months. Personally, I would go for it.

As far as an iPad is concerned, no one should even be considering the iPad 2 anymore, and Apple doesn't sell the third gen anymore. Going off of what you said you wanted it for, a retina iPad Mini would most likely be your best bet. It's very portable, and the retina display makes photos look stunning.

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra

For the working at home, you would want an iMac as an iPad just wouldn't do the job.

As for the iPad, go in to an Apple store and play with the Retina iPad mini and with the iPad Air and see which one you like better.

Mac2004

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 17, 2004
Internet, email, word processing, youtube, chatting, showing favorite photos from iPhoto album, accounting, etc.

Don't do gaming or video editing.

babens

macrumors member
Mar 11, 2012