iMac or Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ranny2, Oct 2, 2011.

1. ranny2 macrumors member

Hi there,

I have a bit of a dilemma as I really cannot decide which Mac to get. I am a student, and my uses are:
    Web browsing,
    document editing,
    YouTube,
    Photo editing (not PhotoShop, just iPhoto or Aperture)

As I am a student, money is quite tight. Here are my options:

iMac 21.5" Refurbished (2011)
    £849

Mac Mini 2.3GHz, RAM upgrade, new Microsoft mouse and keyboard and use with my existing monitor (Dell 19" 1280x1024)
    £550

I am really not sure which one to get. Part of me is towards the iMac as it is more powerful and looks amazing and comes with the Apple keyboard and mouse.

Part of me however is towards the Mini as it is much cheaper, leaves money over to buy other tech (the new cheaper iPhone if Apple releases one) and software. Also, the Mini is cheaper to upgrade in the future. What I mean by that is if you just want a new monitor, it is cheap or if a 2012 Mini comes out, it would be a cheaper upgrade than an entire new iMac!

Thank you so much for your help, I really appreciate it!

2. FrankHahn macrumors 6502a

Since you already have a display, a Mac Mini is a good choice in consideration of your tight budget. Apple has made the Mac Mini a pretty powerful desktop machine.

3. ranny2 thread starter macrumors member

OK, thanks for your response. My monitor isn't great, and would be absolutely no match to the 21.5" display of the iMac, but I guess it works for me.

4. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

dlimes13

If you plan to keep it for a couple years or so, the iMac.

If the budget is really tight, the Mac Mini. Either system will work for your needs, but I like the iMac with it's great display, All-in-one profile, less hassle (except when upgrading).

5. ranny2 thread starter macrumors member