iMac or Macbook Pro? Architecture Student

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Aznhiga13, Sep 6, 2010.

1. Aznhiga13 macrumors member

Hi I've been looking around the forums for some answers but most of them aren't recent enough to help me. I'm an architecture student looking to get a new computer but I'm tied between either the iMac or macbook pro. The things I'll be doing are basic autocad work but also some heavy rendering, sketchup and 3dsmax.

I currently have an early 2008 macbook pro and I don't like the fact that when I try to render something it takes pretty long and I'm also risking burning out the 8600gt graphics card in it. So I'm considering either the imac or macbook pro but I'm stuck in the battle between portability and power. I most likely will be at school more this year and will be doing more renderings and 3D work.

So my choices:
    -Get the i7 macbook pro and have a more powerful laptop but not be sure if it would suffice compared to what I can get with the iMac for around the same price.
    -Get the i7 iMac and have an amazing desktop computer for working at home but loose in the portability section. I don't want to risk bringing it to school and damaging it or dealing with the hassle too.
    -Get a PC laptop since they have more power than I can get in a macbook pro and I most likely will be using more windows programs, BUT its not an apple. Lol, kidding. I still just don't trust the quality of most pc companies.

The last thing I am considering is getting the iMac and using a remote desktop program like logmein to access it with my 2008 MBP and use it just for the renderings while I'm at school. It makes sense because that's where I would need the power most but I'm not too sure how well these programs work either.

Sorry for the long post, but this situation does need a bit more explaining. So if anyone can help or just give suggestions/opinions it would be very helpful in my decision. Thanks!

2. jbyun04 macrumors 6502a