Imac or Macbook Pro??? help me decide

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by applemike, Aug 11, 2008.

1. applemike macrumors 6502

applemike

hi its my birthday in a few days and i want an imac
    i recently converted my parents into mac fans and they will get me one
    but i cant decide what to get wether to go for the 24 ins imac
    or the 17ins wide macbook pro
    i am a photographer and student studying computer science and i would like to know what you think will be the best for me to use and own

thanks for the advice that may follow
    mike

2. Telp macrumors 68040

Telp

If you are a student in college, I presume, you might want to lean towards the MacBook Pro for it's portability, the iMac would work too, but not something you could pick up and take to class, or something like that.

3. FuuFuu macrumors regular

FuuFuu

a 17 inch mbp won't be as mobile, its actually really heavy. i'm also a computer science major, sophmore in college.

this is what i suggest

macbook with a monitor
    or
    mbp(15)

depending on if you have the money

4. Telp macrumors 68040

Telp

Yes, Macbook Pros are no Airs, but you can't deny that its less mobile than a desktop :p. That is a good idea though. You could buy a macbook and connect to a nice cheap Dell monitor. Also, a 15'' is only 1.5lbs less. It doesn't make it that much "less portable."

5. DJAznSensation macrumors regular

DJAznSensation

definitely the MacBook Pro

IMO the differences that I take into account between the 15in & 17in, are the screen size and the power of the graphics card.

ur photographer so u can get away with the low-end MBP , and if you want a little more power under the hood you can get the mid-level model. The 17in might be overkill

plus u can also custom build to ur particular needs

:apple: DJ Asian Sensation

6. TopGear300 macrumors regular

TopGear300