iMac or MBP + external

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wvuwhat, Aug 12, 2009.

1. wvuwhat macrumors 65816

wvuwhat

I know this has been done to death, sorry.

Here's my problem.

I'm a college graduate, going back to school for Photoshop at a local community college. I'm taking 2 classes to help me learn it, and it may become a profession (a lot of jobs I want require Ps skills, so I'm making myself a better job candidate) or I may realize I hate it and won't do it after this Fall semester.

My father is willing to buy me a new MBP and an external or an iMac. And yes, I know how fortunate I am. I'm blessed/fortunate enough to be offered this.

My problem arises when I try and choose. I have a 32" t.v. and it looks like I may be inheriting a 46" 1080P Samsung soon, because my parents are buying a 55" HDTV.

I am kind of leaning towards an iMac, because if I get the 46" it'll be in my living room area, at my parents house (I live in the basement, so I have major room) or when I move into a new apartment after I find a job (fingers crossed). That way, the t.v. will be in the main room and I'll have a 24" 2.66 ghz iMac in my room to play all of my movies and probably get a TV tuner.

The other part of me wants a MBP for use with my current 32" in my room, but I'd prefer not to have to hook it up and deal with unhooking/hooking up. With that said, I will most likely sell my 2.2 MB white from late 2007 and get a netbook if I were to get an iMac.

I'm at a crossroads and really don't know what to do. I don't know where I'm going to be in a few months. All I know is my 2.2/1gb/120gb white Macbook will not be able to handle it and my dad is offering me a handout.

What would you do in my position?

2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

Assuming your job would provide you with a computer and that you would not be freelancing, I'd get the iMac.

3. 3N16MA macrumors 65816

3N16MA

Refurb store has a Refurbished MacBook Pro:

$1599