imac or PC For Full HD Video Editing

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Ric6785, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. Ric6785 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #1
    I have recently purchased a Sony HDR-SR11E Camcorder, this records in Full HD 1920 x 1080 in AVCDHD Format.
    My question to anybody who can help is, will an imac handle this type of file.
    If an imac will, can I then connect the imac to my 1080p tv via the DVI - HDMI cable and will it keep in the original quality that can be displayed directly through the camcorder to tv vie HDMI ?
    or
    Should I purchase a pc with hdmi output ?

    Any help or advise on this would be most helpfull before I purchase a PC or imac.................
     
  2. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    The Mac does not handle AVCHD natively (iMovie, Final Cut). Either program has to transcode it to either AIC or ProRes (Final Cut Only) during import. Most PC programs also do not handle AVCHD natively either, so look into it.

    The iMac is more than powerful enough, but AVCHD is not a good delivery format yet, so you will likely have to transcode anyway. I would go with the Mac simply for the reason that their editing programs are so awesome.

    Also, the quality from the import looks identical to the original in my opinion. I have an AVC Canon HF100 and love it.
     
  3. PMR macrumors 6502

    PMR

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Portugal (Google it)
    #3
    Do not make another mistake like choosing sony over canon! Mac and FC ftw! :)
     
  4. Ric6785 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #4
    Imac to HD tv

    Thanks for your information zedsded, I took my camcorder to my local mac store. Connected it to an imac, you are right it converted the movie during import. The editing software is fantastic ! it was such a delight to use something that just works. I nearly purchased my imac there and then in the store....... Do you connect your imac to your HD tv ? if so is the quality output still at 1080 ?:)
     
  5. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #5
    No. I output to the Apple TV (which is a device I suggest you purchase if you plan to do a lot of home movies). Easiest way to watch stuff on the TV. Although, wait until after the iPod keynote incase they are updated.

    The Apple TV outputs 720p, but only at 24 frames per second. Most camcorders use 30 frames per second, so the Apple TV outputs at 960x540p. The quality is not very different from directly from the camcorder because all consumer camcorders use chips that are around this resolution. They now record "Full-HD," but it is all done through pixel-shifting.

    iMovie can import in this 540p or 1080p. You can test it for yourself, and there is no real difference (again due to the fact that consumer camcorders do not have 1080p chips). The space saving difference is very noticeable however.

    If you hook up the iMac directly to the TV, it should be able to do 1080p, as long as you import the clips at 1080p. Check this out though, as I am not sure of supported resolutions through the miniDVI out.
     

Share This Page