IMAC or WAIT - WORKING MACHINE

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MaxFOCUS, Mar 20, 2013.

1. MaxFOCUS macrumors newbie

Hi All,

I'm a FIRST TIME poster and really need the help of some pro's :).

So I'm a Graphic Designer and need a new computer because newly I need to edite videos (also a lot of After effects CS6 and Adobe Premiere).
    On the last video I was working on the After Effects it was s huge Paint in the A*ç since the render times where really long (and when ur a employe TIME IS MONEY or OVERTIME :p) therefore I got a nice budget in my hands from my boss to upgrade my system.

On a daily basis I do more Photoshop, Indesign heavy files but occasionly I will have some heavy editing to do and also I will share this computer with a co-worker that will do some heavy 3D from time to time (maya, Cinema4D etc.)..

Currently I'm working on a:
    Imac 27" mid 2011
    2.7 GHz Intel Core i5,
    12GB RAM 1333Mhz,
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M

So my question is....

Shall I wait for the NEW MAC PRO 2013 to come out or is a new MAXED out Imac enought (current model) or Shall I purchase a old MAC PRO (8-core)?

as I said the budget isn't much of a problem but I don't want to waist time on waiting for the New mac pro if it's not a must... also I don't want to spend money if not needed. :D

I hope I gave enought infos if not let me know :D

2. computergod macrumors newbie

Ya I know I want that new mac pro too....just thinkin though whats new that the mac pro right now is missin? thunderbolt ports?...lower prices?..gotta check//

3. computergod macrumors newbie