iMac plus 2nd display- whats best?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by LS3 Machine, Oct 22, 2012.

1. LS3 Machine macrumors member

I am getting a new maxed out iMac afetr they come out in the next month or so. For the work I do, I require at least 2 monitors (I am a technical writer). I need the screen real estate to easily view multiple documents at once. I was thinking of adding a Thunderbolt display as a 2nd monitor, as this seems like it will be a nice match for the Imac. Is there anything else I should consider when deciding on my setup? They aren't cheap, but money isn't really an issue. I do some video rendering as well, and I'm new to mac computers, but I have an Iphone and ipad. Thanks for any advise.

Tim

2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

Assuming you are going to purchase a 27" iMac, then there are a few options...If money isn't an option, buy an Apple 27" screen, but they aren't cheap, and many people here use Dell ultrasharp screens with good results. I have a 27" iMac, but that's enough screen for me...I edit video and photographs, but find 27" is fine...If i'm stuck for more real-estate, I just use airplay with my 46" Sony Bravia TV. Other monitors that won't break the bank are around too...Best advice with screens is try before you buy...Go to a retail outlet and see them setup and in action.

3. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

mohsy90

Well, updated iMacs will most likely be released tomorrow. Which is good news. As far as second display goes, the thunderbolt display is by far the best companion for any iMac or MacBook Pro. Price is not an issue as you said, so it it will definitely be the best fit.

Some things to be aware of that may change your decision:
    -Glossy screen so reflections may be a problem, all will depend on the lighting situation of where you place the display
    -Limited ports. It does have fewer USB and other ports compared to some comparable dell monitors - which are also cheaper