iMac Preforming in "Choppy" Manor

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Peligroso, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. Peligroso, Mar 21, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011

    Peligroso macrumors member

    Peligroso

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #1
    Hi everyone, I am a long time reader but don't usually post much... But to get on with my issue, I have a 24" iMac and for a while now it has be running rather choppy, (as in typing, scrolling and moving of the mouse). I have tried various things to fix and none have succeeded, so I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions to fix my problem.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    what were they?
     
  3. Peligroso thread starter macrumors member

    Peligroso

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    I have tried things such as disk utility and clean my mac, but they have not improved my situation.
     
  4. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    So you havn't tried options like resetting your PRAM or doing a fresh install of your osx via a time machine backup?

    Have you checked to make sure none of your computer's hardware are faulty via the hardware check on our program install disk that came with the mac?
     
  5. Lesser Evets macrumors 68040

    Lesser Evets

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    #5
    Sounds like my Mac when the hard drive is ready to crash and burn, or when my drive is almost filled to capacity. Check the drive! Do maint. & repair if possible. If it is dying, you will need someone to replace it.

    Start using Time Machine to back up if you aren't already doing so.

    Is that a slasher play or does Choppy Manor have a stage where iMac performs?
     
  6. MacHamster68, Mar 22, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6
    and if you got the 24" iMac with nividia 8800 fitted ,then that could be the first signs of that GPU saying goodbye, to do a quick test , just install smc fan control and rev up the GPU fan to max possible , if the choppy gets better its the GPU and that would be no surprise with that nividia
    ....but dont know if yours has that nvidia 8800 , if not and you had been wise to get one with the ati GPU then its the hdd very likely
     
  7. Peligroso thread starter macrumors member

    Peligroso

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    Thanks for all of your responses, my hard drive still has plenty of space. Also my GPU is a NVIDIA GeForce 9400.
     
  8. Peligroso thread starter macrumors member

    Peligroso

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #8
    I set the ODD fan to max and so far my iMac is running much smoother. Any suggestions on a permanent fix?
     
  9. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #9
    sorry , but the only thing that might help is to open the iMac and clean it inside of all dust that might be inside , that could possibly extend the life a little bit , as it helps cooling , you would be surprised how much dust a iMac can collect over time , and holding a vacuum cleaner on the entry and exit is not very efficient to clean it , opening and cleaning the fins is much more efficient
    at least the nvidia 9400 is not known to fail constantly unlike the previous 8800 series , so the chance of a lasting repair if it fails complete is very high
    and if you got apple care ,its worth to go in the nearest apple store and get it sorted for free
     
  10. Peligroso thread starter macrumors member

    Peligroso

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #10
    Thanks so much for all of your help, unfortunately I do not have apple care, but I will try cleaning. :)
     
  11. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #11
    you are welcome ,but when you clean it take care lots of care , its all to easy to rip the wires to the isight and display when opening it
     

Share This Page