Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JorgAncrath

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2017
Luxembourg
I'm a long term Mac developer and have been on the Mac Pro from when it was called the PowerMac G4. In recent years, however, Apple has failed to deliver my new Mac Pro every 3 years and I’ve been forced to try lots of different strategies: By now I have a 2014 iMac in my office, a 2013 hex-core Mac Pro in my home office and a Late 2016 MacBook Pro 15” to roam around with.

I’m mostly working on my MacBook Pro at the moment, but later in the summer my new home office will be ready and I’ll go back to working mostly on a desktop. I’m a 3 big screens kind of developer, so a laptop is not a great fit for me.

Now with the new Kaby Lake iMac out, the iMac Pro due in December and the new Mac Pro some time off, I’m trying to figure out what to do.

On the one hand, the new iMac 27” fully specced out is actually a fantastic machine trouncing all of my current Macs with 5,692 single and 19,478 multi-core performance, which is 74% faster on single, and 5% faster on multi-core than my Mac Pro.

On the other hand an 18 core iMac Pro is only a few months away, and the new Mac Pro is certain to go even further, though it’s ETA is up in the clouds.

I’m mostly interested in Xcode (and AppCode) performance and it is really hard to predict its performance on different architectures. I know Xcode is CPU bound, but only up to the point where the disk and the RAM can’t shovel data in and out quickly enough. I found some old benchmarks online, but there aren’t really enough to get a clear picture.