iMac Pro iMac Pro SMC in Bootcamp - A request to the pros

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Mac32, Apr 9, 2018.

  1. Mac32, Apr 9, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2018

    Mac32 Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    As iMac Pro users here probably know, Apple changed the SMC for the first time in over 10 years with the iMac Pro. Software makers, and people providing unofficial driver support, so far haven't been able to access the SMC in Bootcamp. For instance, this renders fan control software like Macs Fan Control unusable, and unofficial graphics drivers can't access advanced features.

    Could anyone here who is in contact with Apple's business/corporate support, please request that Apple fixes this issue? For all I know, the inability to access the SMC in Bootcamp could be another bug.

    Apple has yet to open a support service on their Apple.com webpage for iMac Pro Bootcamp, and regular customer support is a waste of time in matters like this.

    Thanks.
     
  2. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    It is unlikely to be a bug. They built a computer within a computer, where a hidden computer handles all of the details. It is an update to the computer that controls the touchbar MacBooks: https://www.macrumors.com/2017/12/14/imac-pro-has-t2-chip-with-secure-boot/

    Likely they will have to deliberately add a fan control feature (unlikely maybe) or you will need to bypass something (a jailbreak of sorts). Perhaps letting people control the fans directly is considered a bug by them, so this was their answer.
     
  3. Mac32 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #3
    Software makers are able to access the SMC in OSX, for instance Macs Fan Control works here, but not in Bootcamp.
     
  4. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    When booting the iMac Pro you are first booting into the T2 which then boots macOS. The SMC is no longer separate and is controlled through the T2. Maybe they will update it eventually.

    I have no idea how bootcamp is handled now, but I know that the Intel GPU was hidden form bootcamp for a while now if you had two GPUs (at least the retina models) and forced high power graphics unless you did some work arounds. Perhaps this is more of the same to convince people to not use bootcamp.
     
  5. Mac32, Apr 9, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2018

    Mac32 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #5
    Thanks for the reply. I know about the T2 chip, which btw. has the option to turn off its security function (making the iMac Pro function as a regular iMac). However, this could also be a bug in the Bootcamp drivers, and how they work with the new SMC. I doubt it was Apple's intention to make any access to the SMC in Bootcamp impossible, since it works in OSX.
     

Share This Page