iMac Pro - unsupported processor in boot camp

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by Maykee, Apr 19, 2019.

  1. Maykee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    #1
    F9BF518E-A1C1-47DE-AC05-01AF1CBAEA89.jpeg Just wanted to say Hi as this is my first post.

    Straight away, I’m looking for some help.

    I have been using bootcamp ever since I got the iMac Pro. I had no issues.

    Today I have booted the computer to Windows 10 and to my surprised BSOD appeared with message “unsupported processor”.



    I have tried doing many things to resolve it including reinstalling Mojave, reinstalling Windows 10 (was getting stuck just at the beginning of installation and exactly the same BSOD with the same message).

    I have completed factory reset of the Mac (completely wiped the SSD and reinstalled Mojave) unfortunately this did not help at all.

    The only thing I can think of which might have caused it would be me installing 10.14.5 beta yesterday.

    I have reinstalled most recent Mojave (10.14.4) but that did not solve the problem.

    Any ideas on how I can resolve this?
     
  2. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #2
    Which Windows 10 version exactly? Though I don't know for sure, it is possible that versions older than say 1709 won't work with those new CPUs. I'd make sure you are trying to use 1809. Also I assume you are using a 64bit installer. 32bit Windows 10 will absolutely cause this to happen, according to intel.
     
  3. Maykee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    #3
    Hi,

    I have actually tried the most recent version and also the one dyed April last year. Just in case recent updates are the reason for the issue.
    I also made sure that I am downloading the 64bit version.

    I have actually discussed this with Microsoft support and they are suggesting that software update is required for motherboard or CPU or this could be a technical fault.

    I managed to speak to software support at apple and they are suggesting that I bring in the iMac.
     
  4. Acidsplat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #4
    Was there a firmware update included in the 10.14.5 beta that broke something with Boot Camp?
     
  5. Maykee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    #5
    That is possible but I would not know. I have completed a session with Apple on the app and over the phone. Both guys I spoke to, very friendly but also baffled with my problem. I am visiting apple store today. It’s quite a hassle to drag the iMac there but got no option:(
     
  6. Acidsplat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #6
    If the problem started after the 10.14.5 beta was installed, that's probably what caused it. I'm not sure if clean installing a stable version of macOS would undo any firmware or T2 updates if you still have the problem after doing that.
     
  7. Maykee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    #7
    After doing everything I have as far as now I am inclined to think that you might be right. My iMac is with Apple now. I told them that I have installed 10.14.5 and then reverted back. I have been told this should not be the reason for iMac to be behaving the way it is. If it is the update to T2 do you thing things would start working as soon as apple releases 10.14.5 to the public? Ps. After I have reverted back to 10.14.4 and tried beta program again, iMac would not detect 10.14.5 as available.
     
  8. Acidsplat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #8
    Bugs like this should be found before release, it looks like a 10.14.5 update was released today but I don't know if that will have fixed it or not.
     
  9. Maykee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    #9
    If this has been caused by they beta... yes, this should have been found... but I guess that’s what beats are for. Will not now if the update has fixed it as my Mac is with Apple now.
     
  10. Mac56 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #10
    It seems solved after install of 10.14.5 beta 3
     
  11. Maykee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    #11
    Are you saying you had the same problem and installed the new beta and that has solved it for you?
     
  12. Mac56 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #12
    Yes, I had exactly the same error message when trying to install windows 10 in bootcamp after beta 2 of 10.14.5, now with beta 3 seems fixed.
     
  13. Maykee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    #13
    Thank you for the info. That’s great news. Need to contact the apple store taking care of my Mac. And let them know of the solution.
     

Share This Page

12 April 19, 2019