Imac problem's

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bl33d, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. bl33d macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #1
    first off i am going to give the specs of my mac so that you all can have a better idea of what I am working with.

    Imac intel, 3.06 ghz, 4gig mem 500gig hd, Mac OS X Server 10.6.8 (10K549)

    I purchased this mac about 6 months ago for a home studio for music production and have been generally happy with its performance. There are however some pretty big problems that I believe are OS and Hard Drive related. The Mac refuses to shut down or restart on its own it will idle with the white screen with the apple in the center for days on end if left unattended. attempts to run disk utility turn the computer into a mess and also i cannot perform permission repairs or wipe the OS because it needs a copy of server and I do not have access to the original disks. Since I am doing music I have no need for all of the needless script and background operations that server continuously run's. I believe that is part of why my mac is running so slow. Also file transfers are nightmarishly slow and the mac refuses to free up memory on its own and will automatically cache 2 gigs on start up that I can never seem to free up even when next to nothing is running. I have a brand new copy of snow leopard that I would like to be able to do a clean install with. I think this would fix a lot of the issues I am having but you are talking to a busy Marine who has a very limited number of hour's to deal with these kind of tech problem's. Any feedback or advice would be much appreciated. Thank You!
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    It's A Little Tough

    Without the server disks, I think yournhunch about the HDD is probably right, but the only way to find out isnto clean install. Can you put your hands on those server disks?

    I use my iMac for music too, but have external HDDs for archiving stuff....Thing with yours is it obviously has hard drive issues thatnneed repair.

    Starting again is preferred option to be honest

    Hope you get it fixed:)
     
  3. bl33d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #3
    sigh, sometimes I hate when I'm right


    yeah, I have a mountable DMG copy of server would burning it to a disk allow me to use it? because the ripped hd copy I have wont work when virtually mounted. Also any Ideas on who might be able to do some repairs?
    Im thinking of upgrading the mem and adding a bigger hd as well.
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    Upgrading The Memory

    Is really easy. Four screws under the front of the screen and you pop the new modules in.

    I don't think you will be able to burn an installation image from your server installation, but others here may know a way round.

    If you are reasonably tech capable, adding an hdd isn't to bad either, but I would suggest you find an Apple specialist in your area to do it.....if the drive that's giving problems could be checked at the same time, and you are still under warranty or AppleCare, it should be replaced for zip.
     
  5. bl33d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #5
    upgrading

    Im going to go ahead and upgrade the mem to 16 gigs, being that I have a mid 2010 model a 2tb hdd seems like a good option as well. If I take out the existing hd and replace it with a new one shouldn't I be able to run a clean install of snow leopard 10.6 with no problems?
     
  6. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #6
    Yes

    As long as you have your SL DVD
     

Share This Page