iMac Purchase

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sketchygargoyle, Jul 30, 2012.

1. sketchygargoyle macrumors newbie

So I've been waiting since April to buy an iMac. I kept hearing rumors how the refresh was about to happen. Well now its almost August and still no Imac. Tax free weekend (in NC) is coming up and I was really hoping to buy it then. I wish Apple would just announce whats going on. If the refresh isn't anything special, I would buy the current version on tax free day. Oh, I'm also a student and will get the $100 gift card. That promotion runs until September 21st I believe.
    If the refresh at least includes Ivy Bridge and some aesthetic changes, I'll be happy and hold out. But I really don't want to hold out past September 21st either. So if anyone has any information or the up-to-date rumors on when it will most likely be released, that'd be great.

I'm noticing an apple event september 12th, which could be a possible new imac date. Would that mean that the next day, the new models will be available at the stores?

2. PhoenixMac macrumors 65816

Usually for computers announced they are available the next day. If I were you I would wait to see what Sept 12 brings, if nothing then purchase away.

3. DukeD macrumors newbie

Beware if you buy an iMac

The Mac Mini's a better bet. The reason is that with the iMac, if your screen has problems you may have a huge expense on your hands. You can't just replace the monitor. My wife's iMac started having single pixel wide vertical lines appear, slowly, one by one, over time. The folks at the Apple store told me I was looking at $800 for the repair. The whole machine's barely worth that much. Get the Mini instead and a separate monitor.

4. kylera macrumors 65816

kylera

Is there a particular reason you're aiming for the iMac? Depending on your uses, you could consider a MBP instead.

5. sketchygargoyle thread starter macrumors newbie