iMac RAM configuration

Discussion in 'iMac' started by anthonybrewster, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. anthonybrewster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #1
    Okay, so I have the mid 2010 iMac with the 3.06 ghz i3 processor. I have the ram it came with (4 gb) I planned on buying an 8GB Kit (4GBx2). Could I just put the 2 4gb cards in the iMac and have a total of 12 gb of ram? Or would that not work...

    P.S. This is the RAM I purchased http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=DD58DC81A5CA7304
     
  2. parapup macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    According to this yes that combination should work.
     
  3. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
  4. Montymitch macrumors regular

    Montymitch

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #4
    After upgrading my MacBook to 8gb, I had 2 x2gb sticks and thought what the heck. Now my iMac has 8bg, utilizing the 4gb that it came with plus the 2 x2gb from my MacBook.
    Weird configurations seem to work fine.
     
  5. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #5
    Interesting thread! :D

    I've just taken delivery of a 27" 2011 i5 Quad Core iMac, with 4GB of RAM (2x2GB).

    I have 8GB of PC DDR3 RAM sitting here doing nothing.

    Is Apple RAM the same as PC RAM?

    If so, can I remove the 2 x 2GB stick I have in my iMac and replace them with 2 x 4 gig sticks?

    [Edit] - According to Crucial, the iMac has 4 x slots and can take a max of 16GB: http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/lis...uad-Core i5 (27-inch - DDR3) Mid 2011&Cat=RAM

    So maybe I could add the 8 gig I have, to the 4 gig that's in there? :eek:
     
  6. Fonze macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #6
    Also have a 2011 27 imac. i just bought 2x4gig and added it to the 2x2gig, so 12gig in total, no problems.
     

Share This Page