iMac Ram (Core Duo)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by robo74, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. robo74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
    #1
    Quick Question,

    Thanks in advance.

    I have one of the original intel imacs, core duo 1.83.
    I see it supports 2GB of ram, does anyone know if I can use a single 2GB chip to get there?

    Rob
     
  2. gooffer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston NY
    #2
    answer

    Core Duo

    max 2gb of Ram

    single chip either slot, this is true for iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Mini and so on...
     
  3. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    i have the same iMac 1.83 core duo and it has 2 ram slots so 2x 1gb

    DDR2 PC2-5300 200-pin SODIMM

    i prefer crucial ram
     
  4. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #4
    Use crucial.com's system scanner - it'll tell you exactly what your system can use.
     
  5. gooffer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston NY
    #5
    Ram...

    Question was can one put a single 2gb dimm in one slot getting to 2gb of ram! And the answer is yes you can, important for those with bad ram slot.
     
  6. robo74 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
    #6
    I know its 2GB max, but I was trying to figure out if it would take 1 2GB chip rather then 2 1GB chips.
    Former Apple employee said no, not for the Core Duo, so I will go back to searching for used ram.

    Thanks
    Rob
     
  7. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #7
    Yes, and Crucial's system scanner will tell you that.
     
  8. robo74 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
  9. robo74 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
    #9
    Crucial only shows 2x1GB for this iMac in question.

    the core duo, not core 2 duo.
     
  10. gooffer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston NY
    #10
    my 2 cts

    Both Apple employee and Crucial are wrong, third time yes you can put a single 2gb dimm.

    Actually what does it say about mac mini 1.5ghz can you put single 2gb dimm ? I have tried that and it works. Don't want to go dig out a 1.83 right now but I am pretty sure np, you certainly won't damage anything.
     

Share This Page