iMac RAM question

Gundams

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2014
7
0
I am going to purchase some crucial RAM to upgrade my imac 21.5 inch to 16 GB. However i am unsure which crucial ram to purchase.
http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/memory/ct2k8g3s160bm
I believe its this one because its the only one compatible with mac, however i want to make sure.

p.s.
I am not attempting to install the ram myself, i am going to pay a trained professional to install ram. However i just dont want to pay more for the RAM, when i know i can save some money buying it myself.

thank you very much in advance
 
Last edited:

ryguy92000

macrumors regular
Sep 20, 2014
111
19
Salt Lake City, UT
Ram. Ram? Ram!

The appropriate ram for your iMac will likely be 1333 speed. Brands are subject to wide opinion. What year is your iMac? If its not the "thin" style it is quite easy to change out the ram! And even with the thin style there is a panel on the back of the newer iMacs for Ram access

Try looking at iFixit.com before buying any labor from a shop.

Good Luck! :D
 

jji7skyline

macrumors 6502
Aug 10, 2011
302
0
The RAM is user-upgradeable on most iMacs and it should give you details in your manual.

In terms of what type you need, it would help to know the year and model of the iMac.

You can usually get RAM several times cheaper than from Apple or Crucial if you know where to look.
 

Gundams

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2014
7
0
ty guys

yes it is the tapered finish, late 2013 version, which technically shouldn't be upgraded but can be. I wasn't sure which ram to purchase because few people have attempted this. This is the RAM that fits the model i believe. Ty for your help
 

Gundams

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2014
7
0
Yes i understand that it requires disassembling

Gundams, just in case you're not aware given the information you have provided this iMac will require disassembling to install the RAM.
I know that it requires disassembling, which is why im having a trained professional do the installation for me. I just want to save money as i was going to be charged 204 dollars just for both RAM sticks. However, im not 100% sure that the ram i cited earlier will work in my Imac.
 

Kyle-K

macrumors regular
Aug 23, 2014
125
12
Regional, Western Australia.
I know that it requires disassembling, which is why im having a trained professional do the installation for me. I just want to save money as i was going to be charged 204 dollars just for both RAM sticks. However, im not 100% sure that the ram i cited earlier will work in my Imac.
Excellent just wanted to confirm in case you weren't aware.
 

Gundams

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2014
7
0
ty for your advice

While you're added, trow in a SSD if you haven't have one already. This will give you the most speed increase.
Thats exactly what i was thinking, i gonna save up some more cash and do multiple things at once to my imac. Any other recommendations for upgrades?

----------

Does any one know if the RAM i stated earlier is the correct RAM to purchase? Ive had a lot of questions asked, but no direct answer.

Ty in advance
 

mmomega

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2009
3,554
1,721
DFW, TX
The 2012-2013 iMacs use PC3-12800 or DDR3-1600 RAM, same RAM different name.
21.5" goes to 16GB
27" goes to 32GB

I've also tested low voltage 1.35v 1866 RAM in my 2013 iMac and it works great and OSX doesn't downclock it to 1600.
 
Last edited:

Gundams

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2014
7
0
The 2012-2013 iMacs use PC3-12800 or DDR3-1600 RAM, same RAM different name.
21.5" goes to 16GB
27" goes to 32GB

I've also tested low voltage 3.5v 1866 RAM in my 2013 iMac and it works great and OSX doesn't downclock it to 1600.
Ah, good recommendation, can you give specifics, about the brand of RAM you used? Ill definitely consider that as an option.
 

mmomega

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2009
3,554
1,721
DFW, TX
Ah, so itll still work on a mac, even though its not mac specific. ty
Apple doesn't make any RAM.

A lot of people have their preferred brands but as long as you get the correct size, the correct voltage and the correct speed that will work with your CPU and logic board then the RAM will work.

Now I may spend a few more dollars for a well known brand of RAM but that is a personal preference.

So as long as you put in at least:
1600 MHz PC3-12800 DDR3 SO-DIMM SDRAM (204 PIN)
Low Voltage 1.35V RAM

it will work.
 

Gundams

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2014
7
0
Apple doesn't make any RAM.

A lot of people have their preferred brands but as long as you get the correct size, the correct voltage and the correct speed that will work with your CPU and logic board then the RAM will work.

Now I may spend a few more dollars for a well known brand of RAM but that is a personal preference.

So as long as you put in at least:
1600 MHz PC3-12800 DDR3 SO-DIMM SDRAM (204 PIN)
Low Voltage 1.35V RAM

it will work.
ok, thank you for letting me know. Now i need to start saving up some more cash to get an ssd. If you or anyone else has any advice on anything else i should purchase, it would be very appreciated.

----------

Apple doesn't make any RAM.

A lot of people have their preferred brands but as long as you get the correct size, the correct voltage and the correct speed that will work with your CPU and logic board then the RAM will work.

Now I may spend a few more dollars for a well known brand of RAM but that is a personal preference.

So as long as you put in at least:
1600 MHz PC3-12800 DDR3 SO-DIMM SDRAM (204 PIN)
Low Voltage 1.35V RAM

it will work.
would it also be possible to upgrade the graphics card. Im happy with job the NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 1024 MB, but if there is something better i can install, then that might be the first thing i purchase.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.