iMac RAM question..

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Neo110503, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. Neo110503 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #1
    How easy is it to replace the RAM in an iMac. I'm relatively competent with computers, and i can't see spending the amount of money apple wants for RAM
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    You remove one screw, then pull a flexible plastic "tab" to remove each old stick, then slide the new ones in and screw in the panel.

    Literally two minutes or so.

    I just bumped my 24" to 4GB last night, and I've done others before. iMacs have been easy to add RAM to since at least 2002.
     
  3. Much Ado macrumors 68000

    Much Ado

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    It's really easy. Don't buy RAM that Apple have added themselves or you'll pay a huge premium.

    (I should probably remind you to make sure everything's earthed properly, too.)
     
  4. RollTide macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    Very easy upgrade. Just don't be afraid to push kind of hard. The thing is tougher than you think.
     

Share This Page