iMac RAM Questions

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Roy Hobbs, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #1
    I have a 20 inch 2.16 C2D iMac with 2 GIG of RAM (2 x 1 gig)
    and a
    17 inch 1.83 CD iMac that has the stock 512 RAM (1 x 512)

    Will have any issues if remove 1 of the 1 gig RAM modules from the 20 inch model and replace it with a 2 gig module from OWC.

    Then take the "leftover" 1 gig module and install it in the 17 inch iMac.

    Any issues??? I thought I had read something about using mathed pairs in the Intel iMacs.

    Thanks!
     
  2. RafMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    #2
    I just received the 4Gb from OWC couple days ago and it works like a charm. Fast. Your old ram should work on previous iMac released last year.
     
  3. midtoad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #3
    in the MacBooks and MBPs at least, your RAM has to be either:
    • a single chip (you could use your 1 GB by itself)
    • two identical chips of any size

    Accordingly I suspect you will not be able to use a 1 GB chip and a 2 GB chip in your iMac in order to get 3 GB.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    No, that is completely inaccurate.

    Please read the MR Guide
     
  5. MacinDoc macrumors 68020

    MacinDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #5
    Here's another Intel iMac RAM question:

    For the rev B C2D 2.33 GHZ iMac (late 2006), exactly how much more than 3 GB can it address? I've read max 3GB, 3.2GB, and "a little more than 3 GB". Has anyone here tried 2X2GB to see how much RAM is actually available in Activity Monitor?

    Just wondering with 2GB modules so cheap right now, how much more RAM and performance improvement I might get with a matched pair of 2GB vs. replacing only one of the current 1GB modules with a single 2GB.
     

Share This Page