iMac RAM upgrade and warranty

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ursus, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. ursus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    First time poster, first time Mac user (as of May 2008).

    I have a 2.8 GHz iMac Intel Core 2 Duo with 2GB of RAM. I'd like to upgrade to 4GB (probably from Crucial, unless anyone has complaints about theim, or alternative recommendations.)

    My question is: if upgrading my RAM will in any way effect my warranty?

    Thanks,
    -ursus-
     
  2. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #2
    No, RAM is considered user serviceable so changing it out will not affect the warrenty
     
  3. George Carlin macrumors regular

    George Carlin

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    America
    #3
    Ram Upgrade for my new 3.06

    I would like to increase the ram in my 3.06 IMAC - from 2gb to 4 gb - which one of the memory co's will buy my old simm's ? And yes I am a newbie here so have your way with me !
    Thanks
     
  4. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #4
    OWC will buy your old RAM
     
  5. Touchy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Breton
    #5
    I have seen several times that "it is easy to add more RAM" to the iMAC. Is there a video available or written instructions for this. I would hate to start and get all screwed up and ruin my new iMAC. Any help??
     
  6. ursus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #6
  7. ursus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #7
    RAM and where to get it

    Hey,
    Anyone know where to get original Samsung RAM (chips and DIMM, not just chips)? Any other company people like? I've heard that Crucial is good too.

    Any help would be great. Thanks,
    -ursus-
     
  8. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #8
    How much do they usually pay? I might also upgrade my 3.06 to 4 GB :D
     
  9. Touchy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Breton
    #9
    Thanks for the link to video. BTW what was the issue with removing the old RAM? It looks like they only pulled at the tab rather than at the end they seemed to push down and the RAM just came out then. What is your opinion? I am completely frightened to take a brand new product and start altering it myself altho the $ savings should drive me to do it.
     

Share This Page