iMac RAM Upgrade in the Future?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by joemama2413, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. joemama2413 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I am the proud owner of a new Al iMac 2.8ghz, 4gb of RAM, 256 mb graphics. If, in the future, Apple comes out with an iMac with say, 6gb of RAM with 3 in each slot, would I be able to upgrade the RAM in my iMac to 6gb?
     
  2. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    I do not have a concrete answer here, but I believe the Santa Rosa Chipset caps off the max at 4.

    The Santa Rosa chipset allows for a 800 MHZ bus yet the RAM is only 667? Any chance that will be ungraded?
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    No.
    Your machine is limited to what the hardware memory controller will recognize.
    (and you'll never see a 3 Gb RAM module - RAM sizes go up by multiples of 2: 256 - 512 - 1024 - 2048 - 4096)
     
  4. gt2000sa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #4
    hi to all

    This is my first post :)

    I have some questions
    I just bought the iMac 24” 2.4GHz with 1GB at 667MHz

    I am thinking in upgrading it to 4GB of RAM
    Is it possible to use 800MHz RAM or the machine dont support more than 667MHz speed?!!!

    the second question, does the memory work as Dual-Memeory on iMac?!!
    or they wont even if i installed identical pairs :)
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
  6. gt2000sa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #6
    thank you very much, ididnt notice it

    great guide
     

Share This Page