iMac Ram upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MattSepeta, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #1
    Will this RAM work in my 24" iMac? I plan on swapping out one of the 2GB sticks for a 4gb stick with the following specifications:

    "Memory Size
    4GB

    Type of Memory
    PC2-6400 DDR2

    Speed
    800MHz

    Pin Configuration
    200-pin SoDIMM"

    Thanks
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    It should work (assuming we're talking about the same 2008 iMac as yesterday)
     
  4. MattSepeta thread starter macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #4
    Looks like I have 2 sticks of 800mhz.

    So that RAM should work then?

    Also- I have read a few conflicting things as to whether or not my imac can even accept any more ram. some sources say it can only use 4GB, but others say 6GB.

    Hellhammer- Yes it is the same. The SSD is up and running btw! I had no idea how much of an improvement I would see as I had never used an SSD, but it is AMAZING. Aperture 3 is open in a second, and the computer turns on in 10 seconds flat. Super happy with it!
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Apple said it can only take 4GB but people have installed 6GB and it works fine

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...24-inch-aluminum-early-2008-penryn-specs.html

    EDIT: Great to hear. HD is the slowest component in today's computer so it's not a surprise that it feels different with an SSD :)
     
  6. MattSepeta thread starter macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #6
    I should have done it long ago! After I throw some more RAM in there it will be like a totally new machine!!!
     
  7. bossxii macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #7
    Not trying to Hijack your thread OP... but vs start another upgrade ram thread. Have a quick question. I have a 4gig memory kit from my 09 iMac I took out to go to 16. My brother is looking to buy the 2010 iMac with 1333mhz ram. It it possible to put a 1066 kit with 1333mhz and the machine just down clock the faster ram but all work together? More ram will benifit him vs a 25% speed issue.

    Thanks in advance for any info on the topic.

    Again sorry for the slight hijack OP! :)
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    It will work but all modules will operate at 1066MHz. Since extra memory bandwidth provides nearly no real world performance increase, he's better off with more RAM than with faster RAM.
     
  9. bossxii macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #9
    Thanks for the info! I thought that was the case, but wanted to make sure. He will end up with 12gigs vs 4gigs. My thoughts were as you said, more ram overall will be far better than simply slightly faster. Plus he will buy the ram off me for cheap to fund my upgrade. :)

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page