iMac ram upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mr inkhead, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. mr inkhead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #1
    Just purchased the 2011 27' iMac

    Currently running...
    4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB

    I want to add more ram and found this sale through deal.com $40
    http://dealnews.com/Kingston-8-GB-P...for-40-after-rebate-free-shipping/490714.html

    Only problem is... that ram is 1066mhz instead of 1333mhz - is that a issue?

    If it is... I also found 1333mhz ram for $60
    http://www.buy.com/prod/kingston-8g...04-pin-laptop-memory/q/loc/101/221668132.html

    I guess peace of mind would be best to spend the extra $20 bucks.. rite?

    any other place reccomended to purchase ram?
     
  2. mwfernandez80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #2
    If you go to Amazon.com and type in "imac 27" then click the first one that is $1609 from amazon but $1699 from apple (the baseline 2011 27 inch), then go to the section "recommended accessories" or "people who viewed this bought" there will be corsair 2*4gb modules at 1333 for 50 dollars, free shipping, no tax, depending on where you live, and it's got good reviews.
     
  3. mr inkhead thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #3
    Awesome bro.. checking it out now...

    Kingston is a good brand to... right?

    ----------

    http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-DDR3-Laptop-Memory-CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9/dp/B002YUF8ZG/ref=pd_cp_pc_2 ---- this one?

    isnt that for "laptop"?
     
  4. mwfernandez80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #4
    Ya Kingston has good stuff, but if your want the best price, I think $50 is about it.
     
  5. mr inkhead thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #5
    It's for laptop.
     
  6. mwfernandez80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #6
    Ya that's it if you found it how I described. And it works for the iMac I'm pretty sure, just because it says "laptop" doesn't mean it can't work for desktops. To be sure go to apples support docs and look up upgrading ram on imac and see what type is needed and if it matches the specs of corsair then it should work. Also read reviews on Amazon of people who used it for their iMacs.
     
  7. krause734 macrumors 6502

    krause734

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #7
    Check out crucial.com you can scan your computer to see what memory you need and then it will give you all the options of upgrading the memory and prices. I notice that Newegg.com and amazon.com often have the best prices though. I am pretty sure you need the 1333 mhz. The laptop memory disks are smaller than the desktop I believe.
     
  8. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #8
    iMacs use laptop ram

    Cheers,
     
  9. dyusem macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    SF North Bay
    #9
    Corsair RAM on Amazon for $39.99...

    ...after $10 rebate. Ordering now for my Apple iMac "Core i3" 3.2 21.5-Inch (Mid-2010) and my daughter's Apple MacBook Pro "Core i5" 2.3 13" Early 2011...
     
  10. nakenergy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #10
    I ordered the Corsair on for my 2011 27 inch imac 2 weeks back and it is awesome. Running this at 12 mb right now. :cool:
     

Share This Page