iMac RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by PVisitors, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. PVisitors macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #1
    Just ordered a 4gb 2011 iMac, however I am going to upgrade the RAM myself to avoid paying ridiculous Apple prices.

    Crucial are selling 8GB for £40, will I be able to put the 8GB in my iMac with the stock 4GB ram to get 12gigs? Or will there be compatibality issues?
     
  2. Tiki35 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
  3. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
  4. BlindSoul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #4
    Yes that's exactly what I did. :p
    just that I bought Corsair, it's cheaper.
     
  5. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    Well, my iMac started having freezes after I installed additional 8GB (Corsair memory). The machine runs stable after I have removed the stock 4GB. So I guess its the question of luck.
     
  6. JonasDK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    I did exactly that. Also with Crucial. No problems at all.
     
  7. trims macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #7
    I just added an additional 2 x 2GB -> 8GB in total. Also Crucial.

    Upgrade to 2 x 4GB via Apple store = £160

    Upgrade to 4 x 2GB via Crucial = £19 :)
     
  8. PVisitors thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #8
    Cheers for all the comments.

    Is there any possibility that adding RAM can ruin the iMac? I'm thinking about ordering it now so I can put the RAM in before booting up for the first time to save hassle of unplugging it and then moving it downstairs onto a big enough table to lay it flat.

    But I don't want to damage the damn thing before I've even turned it on.
     
  9. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #9
    Lay it flat?

    The RAM is accessed through a little door underneath, no laying required. I've replaced and installed all of my RAM in that manner. As long as you're no doofus, nothing could possibly go wrong.
     
  10. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Upgrading the RAM is easy. link. You shouldn't damage it by upgrading.
     
  11. PVisitors thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #11
    So it's possible to do it while its standing? All the videos I have seen they've told you to lie the mac down on a clothed table.
     
  12. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #12
    I repair and service Macs day in and day out. When I seat the RAM, I hold the display with one hand and push with the other. As long as you're conscious of your iMac tipping (which I've never felt happening anyway) you won't spill it or anything.
     
  13. scoobydiesel macrumors member

    scoobydiesel

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #13
    I went from 4GB to 16GB for $100 thanks to Amazon. Really easy and quick to do, I was a bit nervous when i had to pull out the old sticks because you have to tug on them a bit harder than I expected but in the end everything worked out well :D
     
  14. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #14
    just did mine this arvo and was easy peasy!

    unscrew three little ins' pop in the 2 x 4GB crucial sticks, replace the cover, power on and enjoy :)

    (2011 iMac also)

    from 4 to 12GB for less than £50 including postage is good in my book.
     

Share This Page